Appendix 3

List of forum participants

In order to explore further the issues raised in submissions, the committee held a public forum in Sydney. Members of the committee spent the day with twenty three participants who represented a range of perspectives and experience. Members of the public also attended the forum and were invited to participate during the plenary session.

Sydney, 14 July 1998

Mr Patrick Quirk, General Manager, Ship and Personnel Safety Services, Australian Maritime Safety Authority

Dr Gregory Feeney, Assistant Secretary, Maritime Transport Group, Department of Workplace Relations and Small Business

Mr Barry Vellnagel, Deputy Director, Minerals Council of Australia

Captain Christopher (Kit) Filor, Inspector of Marine Accidents, Marine Incident Investigation Unit

Mr John Campbell, General Manager, Ship Management Services, BHP Transport Limited

Mr Trevor Charles, Australian Coordinator for the ITF Flag of Convenience Campaign, ITF Australia

Mr Stuart Ridland, Area Manager for Australasia, Lloyd's Register of Shipping

Mr Robert Bohn, Deputy Commissioner, Office of the Commissioner of Maritime Affairs

Mr John Coombs, National Secretary, Maritime Union of Australia

Mr Neil Chambers, Spokesperson, Australian Shipping Federation

Mr Paul MacGillivary, Private citizen

Mr Dale Cole, Chief Executive, Australian Towage, Howard Smith Towage Managers of United Salvage Pty Limited

Dr Barrie Lewarn, Director, Faculty of Maritime Transport and Engineering, Australian Maritime College

Captain Peter Sturt, Pilot, Queensland Coastal Pilot Service Pty Ltd

Mr David Baxendale, Ship Standards Manager, BHP Transport Limited

Captain Glenn Mathias, Director, Marine Regulation, Ministry for Forests and Marine Administration

Mr Ted Richardson, Regional Director, Stella Maris

Mr John Briggs, Manager, Marine Operations and Personnel, Ship and Personnel Safety Services, Australian Maritime Safety Authority

Mr Fulgentius D'Souza, Acting Program Manager, Maritime and Freight Forwarding, Construction and Transport–EDS, TAFE NSW

Mr Rodney Short, Executive Officer, Australian–Maritime Training Inc

Sister Mary Leahy, Chaplain, Stella Maris (Apostleship of the Sea)

Mr Trevor Rose, Manager, Survey Operations, Ship & Personnel Safety Services, Australian Maritime Safety Authority

Mr Wayne Stuart, Manager, Policy and Administration, Marine Environment Protection Services, Australian Maritime Safety Authority