The Parliament of the Commonwealth of Australia

Review of the Special Broadcasting Service Annual Report 2002-2003

House of Representatives Standing Committee on Communications, Information Technology and the Arts

June 2004 Canberra © Commonwealth of Australia 2004 ISBN 0 642 78470 1

Contents

THE REPORT

1	Review of the Special Broadcasting Service Annual Report 2002-2003	1
	Introduction	1
	Inquiry	2
	lssues	2
	Broadcast of news programs from sources that are offensive to local communities	2
	Allegations of bias	3
	SBS' handling of complaints	4
	Other matters	5
	Conclusion	5

APPENDICES

Appendix A – List of submissions7	

Appendix B – Witnesses and transcript of hearing	9
--	---

Membership of the Committee

Chair	Mr Bob Baldwin	MP
-------	----------------	----

Deputy Chair Mr Michael Hatton MP

Members Mr Steven Ciobo MP

Mr Pat Farmer MP

Ms Sharon Grierson MP

Mr Michael Johnson MP

Mr Chris Pearce MP

Mr Robert Sercombe MP

Mr Lindsay Tanner MP

Mr Ken Ticehurst MP

Committee Secretariat

Secretary

Ms Catherine Cornish

Inquiry Secretary Mr David Monk

Administrative Officer Ms Suzy Domitrovic

V