

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON CLIMATE CHANGE, WATER, ENVIRONMENT AND THE ARTS

Inquiry into the Australian coastal zone

Issued: 25 February 2009

Chair—Jennie George MP Deputy Chair—Mal Washer MP

Committee to hear from director of coastal research at Sydney University

The House of Representatives Climate Change, Water, Environment and the Arts Committee will hear from Professor Andrew Short, Director of the Coastal Studies Unit at the University of Sydney, at a public hearing in Canberra on 26 February 2009 as part of its inquiry into climate change and environmental impacts on Australia's coastal zone.

"Professor Short's submission notes the environmental impacts of coastal population growth and emphasises that such growth should be 'planned well in advance and carefully controlled, with a focus on expanding existing coastal centres, and minimising the spread of new development outside of these areas," Committee Chair Ms George said.

"One of the Committee's terms of reference is to consider the environmental impacts of coastal population growth and ways to promote sustainable use of coastal resources".

"The Committee looks forward to exploring this and other matters with Professor Short," Ms George said.

The inquiry is examining existing policies and programs related to coastal zone management, and strategies for climate change adaptation. The Committee is also looking at ways to promote sustainable coastal communities, as well as governance and institutional arrangements for Australia's coastal zone.

Members of the public are welcome to attend the hearing, which will also be webcast (audio only) on the Parliament House website at: http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting.

Public hearing schedule on 26 February 2009 Venue: Committee Room 1R4, Parliament House, Canberra

10.45am Professor Andrew Short, Director, Coastal Studies Unit, Institute of Marine Science, University of Sydney

Further details on the inquiry can be obtained from the Committee's website at <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/ccwea</u>.

For **media comment**, please contact the Committee Chair, Ms Jennie George MP, on 02 6277 4260 (Canberra) or 02 4262 6122 (electorate office)

For **background information**, please contact the Committee Secretariat on (02) 6277 4580 or by email at <u>ccwea.reps@aph.gov.au</u>.