

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON CLIMATE CHANGE, WATER, ENVIRONMENT AND THE ARTS

Inquiry into the Australian coastal zone

Issued: 20 March 2008

Chair—Jennie George MP Deputy Chair—Mal Washer MP

Inquiry into climate change and environmental impacts on coastal communities

The House of Representatives Climate Change, Water, Environment and the Arts Committee is to conduct an inquiry into climate change and environmental impacts on Australian coastal communities.

Committee Chair Jennie George welcomed the co-referral of this inquiry by the Minister for the Environment, Heritage and the Arts Peter Garrett MP and the Minister for Climate Change and Water Senator Penny Wong.

"Much of Australia's population and infrastructure is in the coastal zone, increasing our vulnerability to climate change impacts," Ms George said.

"The growth in population and intensification of land use along the coast is further increasing pressure on the environment in many areas."

"That both ministers jointly referred this inquiry to the committee reflects the critical importance of this area."

The terms of reference provide for the committee to inquire into climate change and environmental pressures experienced by Australian coastal areas. The inquiry will have particular regard to:

- existing policies and programs related to coastal zone management, taking in the catchment-coast-ocean continuum
- the environmental impacts of coastal population growth and mechanisms to promote sustainable use of coastal resources
- the impact of climate change on coastal areas and strategies to deal with climate change adaptation, particularly in response to projected sea level rise
- mechanisms to promote sustainable coastal communities
- governance and institutional arrangements for the coastal zone.

The committee will accept submissions until **Friday**, **30 May 2008**. Further details about the inquiry, including how to make a submission, can be obtained from the committee's website at <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/ccwea</u>.

For **media comment**, please contact the Committee Chair, Ms Jennie George MP, on 02 6277 4260 (Canberra) or 02 4262 6122 (electorate office) For **background information**, please contact the Committee Secretariat on (02) 6277 4580 or by email at <u>ccwea.reps@aph.gov.au</u>.