

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON CLIMATE CHANGE, WATER, ENVIRONMENT AND THE ARTS

Inquiry into the Australian coastal zone

Issued: 17 June 2009

Chair—Jennie George MP Deputy Chair—Mal Washer MP

Department of Climate Change and Department of Environment to answer questions about the coastal zone

The House of Representatives Climate Change, Water, Environment and the Arts Committee will hear again from the Department of Climate Change and the Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts on Thursday, 18 June 2009, in Canberra. This will be the Committee's final public hearing for its inquiry into climate change and environmental impacts on Australia's coastal zone.

"The Department of Climate Change has a key role in assisting Australia's coastal communities to prepare for the impacts of climate change. The Department of the Environment similarly plays a key role in the implementation of initiatives to protect Australia's coasts and oceans, and ensure that their management is ecologically sustainable," Committee Chair, Ms George said.

"The Committee will be asking these departments for a response to some of the key issues that have arisen since the commencement of our inquiry."

"These issues include climate change risk analysis, adaptation strategies and practices to promote resilience of coastal communities; varying projections of sea level rise; and population pressures on coastal environments", Ms George said.

The inquiry is examining existing policies and programs related to coastal zone management, and strategies for climate change adaptation. The Committee is also looking at ways to promote sustainable coastal communities, as well as governance and institutional arrangements for Australia's coastal zone.

Members of the public are welcome to attend the hearing, which will also be webcast (audio only) on the Parliament House website at: <u>http://webcast.aph.gov.au/livebroadcasting</u>.

Public hearing schedule on 18 June 2009 Venue: Committee Room 1R4, Parliament House, Canberra

10.45am Department of Climate Change

11.25am Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts

Further details on the inquiry can be obtained from the Committee's website at <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/ccwea</u>.

For **media comment**, please contact the Committee Chair, Ms Jennie George MP, on 02 6277 4260 (Canberra) or 02 4262 6122 (electorate office)

For **background information**, please contact the Committee Secretariat on (02) 6277 4580 or by email at ccwea.reps@aph.gov.au.