B. Public hearings

Thursday, 30 March 2017

Canberra, ACT

Private capacity

Professor Quentin Grafton
Professor John Williams

Wednesday, 5 April 2017

Toowoomba, Queensland


Mr Scott Wallace, Land and Water Manager

Border Rivers Food and Fibre

Mr Timothy Napier, Executive Officer

Cotton Australia

Mr Michael Murray, General Manager, Operations

Central Downs Irrigators Ltd

Mr Lindsay Krieg, Chairman

Thursday, 6 April 2017


Namoi Water

Mr Steven Carolan, Vice Chairman
Mrs Jon-Maree Baker, Executive Officer

Private capacity

Dr Guy Roth

Gwydir Valley Irrigators Association

Mrs Zara Lowien, Executive Officer
Ms Louise Gall, Project Officer
Mr Nick Gillingham, General Farm Manager, Sundown Pastoral Company


Dr Michael Robertson, Science Director
Dr Michael Bange, Senior Principal Research Scientist

NSW Department of Primary Industries

Mr Rod Jackson, Leader, Northern Irrigated Cropping Systems
Dr David Mitchell, Technical Specialist, Hydrology Research
Ms Claire Norris, MERI and Communications Officer, Sustaining the Basin: Irrigated Farm Modernisation Program

Thursday, 25 May 2017

Canberra, ACT

Department of Agriculture and Water Resources

Mr David Parker, Deputy Secretary, Water Division
Mr Paul Morris, First Assistant Secretary, Water Division
Ms Mary Colreavy, Assistant Secretary, Water Acquisition and Markets Branch, Water Division
Mr Tim Fisher, Assistant Secretary, Water Policy Branch, Water Division
Ms Amy Fox, Assistant Secretary, Water Infrastructure Northern Branch, Water Division
Mr Richard McLoughlin, Assistant Secretary, Water Resources Branch, Water Division
Mr John Robertson, Assistant Secretary, Water Infrastructure Southern Branch, Water Division

Thursday, 1 June 2017

Canberra, ACT

Murray–Darling Basin Authority

Mr Phillip Glyde, Chief Executive
Mr Colin Mues, Chief Economist
Mr Russell James, Executive Director, Policy and Planning Division

Thursday, 22 June 2017

Canberra, ACT

National Irrigators' Council

Mr Steve Whan, Chief Executive Officer
Ms Karen Hutchinson, Director

Thursday, 10 August 2017

Canberra, ACT

National Farmers' Federation

Ms Jacqueline Knowles, Manager, Natural Resource Management

Tuesday, 22 August 2017

Harvey, Western Australia

Government of Western Australia

Mr John Ruprecht, Executive Director, Irrigated Agriculture, Department of Primary Industries and Regional Development

Harvey Water

Mr Kevin Warburton, Chairman, South West Irrigation Asset Cooperative
Mr Bradd Hamersley, General Manager
Mr Ian Eckersley, Director
Mr Stephen Cook, Operations Manager
Mr Geoff Calder, Consultant

Southern Forests Irrigation Scheme

Mr Harvey Giblett, Chairman
Mr Mark Bending, Member
Mr Justin Omodei, Member

Collie Shire

Councillor Wayne Sanford, Shire President
Councillor Glyn Yates, Shire Deputy President

Wednesday, 23 August 2017

Adelaide, South Australia

Private capacity

Professor Lin Crase
Associate Professor David Paton AM
Dr David Adamson
Dr Adam Loch
Associate Professor Sarah Wheeler

Thursday, 24 August 2017

Melbourne, Victoria

Environment Victoria

Ms Juliet Le Feuvre, Healthy Rivers Campaign Manager

Southern Rural Water

Mr Clinton Rodda, Managing Director

Netafim Australia Pty Ltd

Mr Levy Schneider, Managing Director

Private capacity

Mr Barry Croke

Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering

Professor Edward (Snow) Barlow, Deputy Chair, Agriculture Forum
Dr Matt Wenham, Executive Manager, Policy and Projects

Greater Shepparton City Council

Mr Johann Rajaratnam, Director, Sustainable Development

Goulburn Broken Catchment Management Authority

Mr Christopher Norman, Chief Executive Officer
Ms Megan McFarlane, Manager, Farm Water Program Manager

Thursday, 7 September 2017

Canberra, ACT

Department of Agriculture and Water Resources

Mr Malcolm Thompson, Deputy Secretary, Water Division
Ms Mary Colreavy, Assistant Secretary, Water Division
Mr Charles Edlington, Assistant Secretary, Water Division
Mr Tim Fisher, Assistant Secretary, Water Division
Mr John Robertson, Assistant Secretary, Water Division
Dr Andrea Wilson, Assistant Secretary, Water Division

Friday, 15 September 2017

Griffith, NSW

Ricegrowers' Association of Australia

Miss Rachel Kelly, Policy Manager

Murrumbidgee Irrigation

Mr Jody Rudd, General Manager, Asset Delivery, and A/g Chief Executive Officer
Mr Frank Sergi, Chair

Coleambally Irrigation Co-operative Limited

Mr Austin Evans, General Manager Operations

Murray Irrigation

Mrs Janet Manzin, Customer Accounts Officer
Mr Michael Pisasale, Customer Accounts Manager

AgriFutures Australia

Dr David Alden, General Manager, Research and Innovation
Mr Michael Beer, Program Manager, Research and Innovation

Macquarie River Food & Fibre

Mr Michael Egan, Chairman
Dr Grant Tranter, Executive Officer

 |  Contents  |