B. Public hearings

Tuesday, 31 July 2018, Darwin
Minerals Council Australia
Mr Drew Wagner, Executive Director, Northern Territory Division
NT Chamber of Commerce
Mr Brian O’Gallagher, Deputy Chief Executive Officer
Ms Kate Morrissey, Assistant Manager, Industry Councils
Mr Paul Sedman, Member
Manufacturers Council
Mr Owen Pike, Chairman
Mr Kevin Peters, Executive Committee Member
Mr Paul Stone, Executive Committee Member
NT Farmers
Mr Greg Owens, Chief Executive Officer
Charles Darwin University
Professor Sue Carthew, Vice-President and Provost
Wednesday, 15 August 2018, Canberra
Department of Industry, Innovation and Science
Dr Gino Grassia, General Manager, Resources 2030 Taskforce
Mr Jason Russo, General Manager, Onshore Minerals
Wednesday, 22 August 2018, Canberra
Department of Infrastructure, Regional Development and Cities
Ms Maxine Loynd, General Manager, Local Government and Regional Development Australia
Ms Nicole Pearson, General Manager, Regional and Dams Policy
Wednesday, 29 August 2018, Rockhampton
Rockhampton Regional Council
Councillor Anthony (Tony) Williams
Mr Angus Russell, Manager Strategy and Planning
Gladstone Engineering Alliance
Mr Kieran Moran, Media, Communication and Events Coordinator
Capricorn Enterprise
Mr Neil Lethlean, Economic Development Manager
METS Ignited
Mr Ric Gros, Chief Executive Officer
Central Highlands Development Corporation
Ms Vicki Leeson, Business Facilitator
Ms Catherine Spalding, Marketing Officer
Ms Bronwyn Reid (private capacity)
Thursday, 30 August 2018, Mackay
Mackay Regional Council
Councillor Greg Williamson, Mayor
Isaac Regional Council
Councillor Anne Baker, Mayor
Mr Gary Stevenson, Chief Executive Officer
Ms Millicent Bradley-Woods, Acting Senior Adviser
Mackay Chamber of Commerce
Mr Simon Vigliante, Treasurer
CE Smith & Co Mackay Chartered Accountants
Mr Mark Bushell, Director
Mrs Stacey Quinn, Manager
Central Queensland Hire
Mr Jason Newitt, Director
Ms Kylie Porter, Chairman
Mr Sundeep Singh, Vice President, Supply, Minerals Australia
Mr James Palmer, Asset President
Mr Sean Milfull, General Manager
Resource Industry Network
Mrs Adrienne Rourke, General Manager
Greater Whitsunday Alliance (GW3)
Mr Garry Scanlan, Chief Executive Officer
Tuesday, 4 September 2018, Tamworth
Gunnedah Shire Council
Councillor Gae Swain, Deputy Mayor
Liverpool Plains Shire Council
Councillor Andrew Hope, Mayor
Gunnedah and District Chamber of Commerce and Industry
Mrs Stacey Cooke, President
Mr Michael Broekman, Vice President
Association of Mining and Energy Related Councils
Mr Greg Lamont, Executive Officer
NSW Minerals Council
Mr Stephen Galilee, Chief Executive Officer
Whitehaven Coal
Mr Paul Flynn, Manager Director and Chief Executive Officer
Mr Michael van Maanen, Executive General Manager, Corporate and External Affairs
Mrs Patricia Duddy (private capacity)
Red Chief Local Aboriginal Land Council
Mr Mitchum Neave, Chair
Wednesday, 19 September 2018, Canberra
Regional Australia Institute
Dr Kim Houghton, General Manager, Policy and Research
Tuesday, 9 October 2018, Port Hedland
Roy Hill Holdings Pty Ltd
Ms Jeanette Hasleby, Manager, Community Development
Ms Pippa McIntosh, Manager, Government Relations and Corporate Communications
Town of Port Hedland Council
Councillor Camilo Blanco, Mayor
City of Karratha Council
Councillor Peter Long, Mayor
Rio Tinto
Councillor Grant Henley, Mayor, City of Busselton (appeared with Rio Tinto)
Ms Linda Dawson, General Manager, Communities and Communications
Mr Bilal Kably, Business Partner, Mines Procurement
Port Hedland Chamber of Commerce
Mr Peter Carter, President
Fortescue Metals Group
Mr Dean Powell, Category Manager, Category Management Services
Mr Tom Weaver, Acting Group Manager
Wednesday, 10 October 2018, Kalgoorlie
Mr Nicholas Fardell (private capacity)
City of Kalgoorlie-Boulder
Councillor John Bowler, Mayor
Mr John Walker, Chief Executive Officer
Ms Almetra Bethlehem, Policy and Research Advisor
Mr Robert Hicks (private capacity)
Mr Graham Thomson (private capacity)
Kalgoorlie-Boulder Chamber of Commerce & Industry Inc
Ms Simone De Been, Chief Operating Officer
Mr Bill McKenzie, Board Member
Becon Minerals/Manglesdorf Engineering Pty Ltd
Mr Graham McGarry, Managing Director
Goldfields Conferences and Events
Mr Laurie Ayers, General Manager
Lakes Electrical Distributors, Goldfields
Mr Stuart Fleming, General Manager
Mr Ryan Hough, Branch Manager
Overland Motel and Miners Rest Motel
Mr Aaron Heal, Owner
Shire of Coolgardie
Mr James Trail, Chief Executive Officer
Wednesday, 17 October 2018, Canberra
Australian Petroleum Production and Exploration Association
Dr Malcolm Roberts, Chief Executive
Mr Matthew Paull, Queensland Policy Director
Australian Competition and Consumer Commission
Mr Marcus Bezzi, Executive General Manager, Specialised Enforcement and Advocacy
Mr Rami Greiss, Executive General Manager, Enforcement
Wednesday, 24 October 2018, Canberra
Origin Energy
Mr Mark Schubert, Executive General Manager, Integrated Gas
Mr Tim O’Grady, General Manager, Public Policy and Government Engagement
Minerals Council of Australia
Mrs Tania Constable PSM, Chief Executive Officer
Dr Gavin Lind, Director, Workforce and Health, Safety Environment and Communities and Executive
Ms Jillian D’Urso, Adviser, Communities
Monday, 5 November 2018, Singleton
Singleton Council
Councillor Sue Moore, Mayor
Mr Jason Linnane, General Manager
Mr Tony Chadwick, Senior Social Economic Planner
Hunter Research Foundation Centre, University of Newcastle
Professor Will Rifkin, Director and Chair
Dr Anthea Bill, Lead Economist
University of Queensland
Dr Katherine Witt, Research Fellow
Glencore Coal Assets Australia
Mr Anthony Pitt, Director, Logistics and Procurement
Mr David Paterson, General Manager, Human Resources
Mrs Kylie Kelly, Group Manager, Shared Services
Roundtable 1 - Government, Research, Training and Employment organisations
Mr Adrian Price, Regional Manager, Hunter Regional, Australian Industry Group
Mr Chris Cork, Director, Forsythes Recruitment
Dr Richard Bush, Director, International Centre for Balanced Land Use, University of Newcastle
Councillor Bob Pynsent, Mayor, Cessnock City Council
Mr Stephen Glen, General Manager, Cessnock City Council
Roundtable 2 - Business and Industry representatives
Mr Andrew McIntosh, Representative, Hedweld Engineering Pty Ltd
Mr Wayne Toms, Representative, Muswellbrook Chamber of Commerce and Industry
Mrs Laura Hordern, Board Member, Singleton Business Chamber
Mr Bob Hawes, Chief Executive Officer, Hunter Business Chamber
Ms Norah St George, Chief Financial Officer, The Bloomfield Group
Mr Wayne Diemar, Senior Project Director, HunterNet

 |  Contents  |