

HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES Standing Committee on Health and Ageing MEDIA ALERT

Issued: 12 June 2008

Chair: Steve Georganas MP Dep Chair: Hon Kevin Andrews MP

## **Obesity hearing in South Australia** Committee to also inspect high school program

The House of Representatives Health Committee will hear from some of South Australia's leading community health experts on obesity when it holds a public hearing in Adelaide on Friday 13 June for the federal parliamentary inquiry into obesity in Australia.

Renowned authorities on the obesity epidemic faced by Australia such as the University of Adelaide's associate professor in health sciences John Moss, head of nutrition and dietetics at Flinders University professor Lynne Cobiac and the obesity theme leader of CSIRO's preventative health flagship Dr Peter Clifton will be among those appearing before the committee chaired by Steve Georganas (Member for Hindmarsh, SA).

Before the hearing, the committee will also inspect the impact of the Premier's Be Active Challenge on students' health and wellbeing at Adelaide High School.

## PUBLIC HEARING PROGRAM Friday 13 June 2008 – 10:15 am to 3:00 pm Old Chamber, Parliament House, North Terrace Adelaide, SA

- **10:20 am** Queen Elizabeth Hospital Research Foundation Executive director Maurice Henderson; Ms Elizabeth Flint; and senior lecturer Dr Murray Drummond.
- **11:00 am** Public Health Policy, Faculty of Health Sciences, University of Adelaide Associate professor John Moss; professor Christian Gericke and Allison Larg.
- 12:45 pm Flinders University School of Medicine Head of nutrition and dietetics professor Lynne Cobiac; senior research fellow Dr Anthea Magarey; senior lecturer Ms Kaye Mehta; and associate professor Elizabeth Handsley from the School of Law.
- **1:30 pm CSIRO** Obesity theme leader of CSIRO's preventative health flagship Dr Peter Clifton; and stream leader CSIRO's diet and lifestyle programs Dr Manny Noakes.
- **2:15 pm SA Divisions of General Practice Inc.** CEO Chris Seiboth; and the CEO of southern division Dr Helena Williams,GP.

**For media comment**, please contact the Committee Chair, Steve Georganas, on (08) 8376 9000 (Electorate office).

**For all other inquiries**, please contact the Inquiry Secretary by phone on (02) 6277 4145 or visit the Committee's website: <u>www.aph.gov.au/haa</u>.