Senate Daily Summary - 30 August to 1 September 2016

Daily summaries

The Senate Daily Summary contains information on significant events and decisions made by the Senate each sitting day.

Tuesday, 30 August
Wednesday, 31 August
Thursday, 1 September

Weekly summary

This section is updated daily with the latest information on events and decisions made by the Senate throughout the sitting week.

The Deputy of the Governor-General opened the 45th Parliament in the Senate chamber. Following a suspension of sitting, the Governor-General addressed the members of both houses assembled in the Senate chamber. Watch on ParlView

As a result of the double dissolution election, all 76 senators were sworn in. Watch on ParlView

Senator Stephen Parry was elected as President of the Senate, and Senator Sue Lines as Deputy President and Chair of Committees.

The Leader of the Government in the Senate advised the Senate of the Turnbull Ministry and party appointments in the Senate.

The Leader of the Nationals in the Senate, the Leader of the Opposition in the Senate, and the Leaders of the Australian Greens, Pauline Hanson's One Nation, and the Nick Xenophon Team advised the Senate of various party appointments.

The Senate agreed to meet again at 9.30 am on Wednesday, 31 August 2016.

The Senate agreed that state senators listed at positions 7 to 12 on the certificate of election of senators for each state shall receive 3 year terms, and those listed at positions 1 to 6 shall receive 6 year terms. Watch on ParlView
The writs:

First speeches

  • Watch Senator Hume's speech
  • Watch Senator Dodson's speech
  • Watch Senator Duniam's speech

Dig deeper

For a complete record of the Senate's activities, refer to:
Journals of the Senate  The official record (minutes) of the Senate and the most authoritative source of information about activities and decisions
Hansard Official transcripts of proceedings
ParlView Video record of proceedings

Electronic and hardcopies of tabled documents are available from the Table Office

Phone: 02 6277 3037