

STANDING COMMITTEE ON LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS

PO Box 6021, Parliament House, Canberra ACT 2600 | Phone: (02) 6277 2358 | Fax: (02) 6277 4427 | Email: laca.reps@aph.gov.au

'Protecting whistleblowers within the federal government public sector'

Roundtable Discussion—Participants

Tuesday, 9 September 2008 1:30–4:30pm Committee Room 2R1, Parliament House, Canberra

> Mr Peter Bennett National President, Whistleblowers Australia

Ms Penny Bird Executive Director, Public Sector Practice Office of the Public Sector Standards Commissioner Western Australia

Dr A.J. Brown

Senior Lecturer, Griffith Law School, Griffith University Project Leader, Australian Research Council Linkage Project 'Whistling While They Work'

> Mr Paul Chadwick Director, Editorial Policies, Australian Broadcasting Corporation

> > Ms Creina Chapman Manager, Corporate Affairs, News Limited

Ms Gail Hambly Group General Counsel and Company Secretary, Fairfax Media Limited

Mr Stephen Jones National Secretary, Community and Public Sector Union (CPSU)

Associate Professor Paul Latimer

Associate Professor, Monash University, Department of Business Law & Taxation Research Team Member, Australian Research Council Linkage Project 'Whistling While They Work'

Professor John McMillan (Session 1 only)

Commonwealth Ombudsman

Mr Robert Needham Chairperson and CEO, Queensland Crime and Misconduct Commission

Mr Peter Roberts

Senior Lecturer, Australian Graduate School of Policing, Charles Sturt University Research Team Member, Australian Research Council Linkage Project 'Whistling While They Work'

> Mr Chris Wheeler Deputy Ombudsman, NSW Ombudsman

> > Professor Richard Wortley

Professor, School of Criminology and Criminal Justice, Griffith University Research Team Member, Australian Research Council Linkage Project 'Whistling While They Work'