# С

# Appendix C – List of Hearings and Witnesses

# Thursday, 12 February 2009 - Canberra

# Australian Building Codes Board

Mr Ivan Donaldson, General Manager

Mr Kevin Newhouse, Manager

# Australian Human Rights Commission

Mr Michael Small, Senior Policy Officer, Disability Rights Unit

# Thursday, 26 February 2009 - Canberra

# Attorney-General's Department

Ms Rachel Antone, Senior Legal Officer, Disability Discrimination Section

Mr Peter Arnaudo, Assistant Secretary, Human Rights Branch

Mr Stpehen Fox, Principal Legal Officer, Disability Discrimination Section

# Thursday, 12 March 2009 - Canberra

# ACT Planning & Land Authority

Mr David Parsons, Principal Officer, Construction Policy, Legislation, Codes & Standards

# Australian Building Codes Board

Mr Darren Atkinson, Executive Officer

Mr Ivan Donaldson, General Manager

Mr Kevin Newhouse, Manager

#### Department of Innovation, Industry, Science & Research

Dr Michael Green, General Manager, Manufacturing Innovation Branch, Manufacturing Division

Mr Detlef Jumpertz, Manager, Building Policy Section, Manufacturing Innovation Branch, Manufacturing Division

#### Thursday, 19 March 2009 - Canberra

#### **Deafness Forum of Australia**

Ms Nicole Lawder, Chief Executive Officer

#### **Housing Industry Association**

Ms Kristin Tomkins, Executive Director, Building Policy

#### Master Builders Australia

Mr Robert Appleton, National Director, Technical & Regulatory Policy

Mr Wilhelm Harnisch, Chief Executive Officer

#### Wednesday, 25 March 2009 - Sydney

#### Individuals

Mr Peter Conroy

Ms Alix Goodwin, Executive Director, Strategic Policy & Planning

#### Australian Hotels Association

Mr Bill Healey, Chief Executive

Ms Juliana Payne, National Manager Accommodation

#### Australian Human Rights Commission

Commissioner Graeme Innes, Human Rights & Disability Discrimination Commissioner

Mr Michael Small, Senior Policy Officer, Disability Rights Unit

#### Australian Network of Universal Housing Design

Ms Amelia Starr, National Convenor

#### **Department of Education & Training**

Mr Alan Smith, Manager, Compliance & Energy

#### **Department of Planning**

Mr Stephen Durnford, Team Leader, Building Systems Unit

Mr Christopher Johnson, Executive Director, Special Projects

#### **Disability Council NSW**

Mr Dougie Herd, Chief Executive

#### NSW Department of Ageing, Disability & Home Care

Mr Mark Lawler, Director, Asset Management

#### **NSW Department of Education & Training**

Ms Melissa Clements, Manager, Disability Policy & Planning, Disability Programs, Office of Schools

Mr Douglas White, R/Director, Strategic Asset Planning & Procurement

#### **NSW** Department of Health

Ms Patsy Choo, Deputy Director, Asset Performance

#### NSW Disability Discrimination Legal Centre Inc

Ms Fiona Given, Policy Officer

Ms Joanna Shulman, Principal Solicitor

#### Physical Disability Australia Ltd

Mr John Moxon, Life Member

Mr Mark Relf, Representative

#### **Property Council of Australia**

Mr Paul Waterhouse, Executive Director, National Policy

#### RailCorp

Ms Margaret Stack, Manager Disability Services

#### **Spinal Cord Injuries Australia**

Mr Greg Killeen, Policy & Advocacy Officer

Mr Sean Lomas, Policy and Information Manager

Mr Andrew Buchanan, Chair

#### The Property Council of Australia

Mr Peter Verwer, Chief Executive

#### Vision Australia

Mrs Caroline Lewis, Manager Access Consulting, (Built & Pedestrian Environment)

Mr Bruce Maguire, Senior Policy Officer

#### Monday, 30 March 2009 - Melbourne

# Access Australia

Mr Michael Fox, Director

#### Australian Federation of Disability Organisations

Ms Leah Hobson, National Policy Officer

#### **Blythe-Sanderson Group**

Mr Andrew Sanderson, Director

Mr George Xinos, Access Consultant/Occupational Therapist

#### **Disability Discrimination Legal Service Inc**

Mr Placido Belardo, Principal Solicitor

#### Health Science Planning Consultants Pty Ltd

Ms Francesca Davenport, Senior Architect & Access Consultant

# Latrobe City Council

Mr Bill Lawler, Project Officer, Rural Access

#### The Association of Consultants in Access Australia

Mr Bob Kellow, Vice President

#### **Tourism Transport Forum**

Mr Evan Hall, National Manager, Accommodation & Tourism Investment

#### Victorian Access Consultants Network

Ms Joe Manton, Convenor

#### Victorian Disability Advisory Council

Dr Rhonda Galbally, Chair

#### Victorian Equal Opportunity and Human Rights Commission

Ms Chelsey Bell, Senior Legal Officer

Dr Helen Szoke, Chief Conciliator/Chief Executive Officer

#### Friday, 3 April 2009 - Brisbane

#### Individuals

Mr Daniel Bedwell

Mr John Deshon

Mr Max Murray

#### Armidale Dumaresq Council

Mr Stephen Gow, Director, Planning and Environment Services

# CAIRNS COMMUNITY LEGAL CENTRE INC

Ms Sue Tomasich, Solicitor, Disability Discrimination Legal Service

#### **Gold Coast City Council**

Ms Rita Struthers, Social Planner (Disability)

#### **Master Lifts**

Mr William Wakefield, Director

# Society of Fire Safety

Mr Chris Gildersleeve, Queensland Chapter

#### **Spinal Injuries Association**

Dr John MacPherson, Member

Mr John Mayo, Manager, Community Relations

#### Welfare Rights Centre - Brisbane

Mr Lawrence Laikind, Solicitor, Operating Disability Discrimination Legal Advocacy Service

#### Tuesday, 7 April 2009 - Melbourne

#### **Attorney-General's Department**

Ms Rachel Antone, Senior Legal Officer, Disability Discrimination Section

Mr Stephen Fox, Principal Legal Officer, Disability Discrimination Section

#### Australian Building Codes Board

Mr Ivan Donaldson, General Manager

Mr Kevin Newhouse, Manager

#### Australian Human Rights Commission

Commissioner Graeme Innes, Human Rights & Disability Discrimination Commissioner

Mr Michael Small, Senior Policy Officer, Disability Rights Unit

#### Department of Innovation, Industry, Science & Research

Mr Detlef Jumpertz, Manager, Building Policy Section, Manufacturing Innovation Branch, Manufacturing Division

Mr Greig Ryan, Assistant Manager