

## HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES STANDING COMMITTEE ON ECONOMICS, FINANCE AND PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION

## LOCAL GOVERNMENT AND COST SHIFTING

## PUBLIC HEARING FRIDAY, 27 JUNE 2003 Committee Room 1R1 Parliament House, Canberra PROGRAM

9.00am	Round Table
	Local Government Grants Commissions
	Local Government Managers Australia
	Victorian CEOs
	<b>Commonwealth Grants Commission</b>
	Department of the Treasury
	Department of Transport and Regional Services
	Australian Local Government Association
	Police Federation of Australia
	Australian Services Union
	Planning Institute Australia
	For participants names see overleaf

11.00am **Round Table continued** 

Morning tea

1.00pm Close

10.45am

## Participants at round table hearing

Local Government Grants Commissions Victoria Grants Commission Mr John Lester, Chairman Mrs Joanne Anderson, Member Mr Colin Morrison, Executive Officer South Australian Local Government Grants Commission Mr Malcolm Germein, Chairman Mrs Jane Gascoigne, Executive Officer NSW Local Government Grants Commission **Emeritus Professor Maurice Daly, Chairperson** Mr Grahame Gibbs, Deputy Chairperson Mr Bruce Wright, Executive Officer NT Grants Commission Mr Robert Beadman. Chairman **Queensland Local Government Grants Commission** Mr Peter Wooley, Manager, Local Government Funding Division Local Government Managers Australia Mr Lindsay Delahaunty, President Mr Trevor Starr, Immediate Past President Mr Jim Elvey, Chief Executive Officer Victorian CEOs Mr David Spokes, City of Port Phillip Mr Hadley Sides, City of Stonnington **Commonwealth Grants Commission** Mr Malcolm Nicholas, Acting Secretary **Department of Treasury** Ms Jan Harris, General Manager, Commonwealth State Relations Division Ms Laurene Edsor, Senior Adviser, Integrated Tax Design Unit, **Tax Design Division** Department of Transport and Regional Services Mr Mike Mrdak, First Assistant Secretary, Territories and Local **Government Division** Mr Adrian Beresford-Wylie, Assistant Secretary, Self-Governing Territories, Local Government and Natural Disaster **Management Branch** Mr Geof Watts, Director, Economic Policy Section, Self-Governing Territories, Local Government and Natural Disaster Management Branch Australian Local Government Association Cr Mike Montgomery, President Mr John Pritchard, Executive Director Policy and Research Police Federation of Australia Mr Mark Burgess, Chief Executive Officer Australian Services Union

Mr Greg McLean, Assistant National Secretary

Planning Institute Australia Ms Di Jay, Chief Executive Officer