SENATE ENVIRONMENT AND COMMUNICATIONS REFERENCES COMMITTEE Inquiry into shark mitigation and deterrent measures 16 March 2017, Sydney

Answer to Question on Notice

Sydney Coastal Councils Group Inc.

QUESTION: Hansard page 3, paragraph 3 – Senator Urquhart

Chair: Thank you. I will ask one quick question and then I will go to Senator Rhiannon. Could you just tell us a little bit more about who your members are in the Sydney Coastal Council Group and why you were formed.

Ms Atkins: At the moment, we have 11 member councils. Those are the coastal councils from the northern beaches down to Sutherland. We were formed in 1989. It came about generally from concerns of a few councils and councillors about stormwater and sewer management. Over the time, we have progressed from stormwater and sewer management being our main focus to all water management issues and sustainable coastal management.

Chair: You have to forgive my ignorance as a Tasmanian: when you say northern beaches, are you talking about from the top of New South Wales down or northern Sydney beaches?

Ms Atkins: No. From the newly amalgamated Northern Beaches Council. So Pittwater, Warringah and Manly down to Sutherland.

Senator URQUHART: Maybe Ms Atkins, on notice, you could provide us with a list of the councils.

Ms Atkins: Can do.

ANSWER

Our 11 member councils are: Northern Beaches, Mosman, North Sydney, Willoughby, City of Sydney, Woollahra, Waverley, Randwick, Inner West, Bayside and Sutherland Councils. A map is attached [Fig. 1].



