MEDIA ALERT Issued 18 September 2015

Chair – Hon Dr Sharman Stone MP Deputy – Hon Warren Snowdon MP

Inquiry into educational opportunities for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students

The House of Representatives Standing Committee on Indigenous Affairs has announced an inquiry into educational outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students.

Chair of the Committee, the Hon Dr Sharman Stone MP said "education is the key for all Australians to realise their life goals and to become financially independent."

"The aims of the inquiry are to identify the best opportunities and pathways we can give to Indigenous students to assist them to succeed in school, regardless of whether they live in a remote community or in a regional or urban centre."

"We will identify the strategies and educational models that have been most successful in assisting Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students to reach their full potential from pre-school to further and higher education."

"We wish to hear from students, local schools, boarding or residential schools, communities, educators and other specialists about what they believe is working and why. Submissions are now being called for." Dr Stone said.

Terms of Reference

The Committee will inquire into and report on key aspects of educational opportunities and outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students up to school leaving age, including but not limited to:

- access to, participation in and outcomes of pre-schooling
- the provision of boarding school education and its outcomes
- access to, participation in, and benefits of different school models for indigenous students in different parts of Australia
- engagement and achievement of students in remote areas
- impacts on, and support for, families and communities whose children experience different models of educational services
- best practice models, both domestically and internationally, and
- comparisons of school models in the transition to further education and employment outcomes.

The Committee invites submissions to the inquiry by <u>Friday 30 October 2015</u>. For advice on making submissions see the Committee's website at <u>www.aph.gov.au/indigenousaffairs</u> or contact the committee secretariat on (02) 6277 4559.

For media comment, please contact the Committee Chair the Hon Dr Sharman Stone MP on (03) 5821 5371 (Electorate Office) or (02) 6277 4477 (Parliament House). **For background information**, contact the Committee Secretariat on (02) 6277 4559 or indigenousaffairs.reps@aph.gov.au