

## STANDING COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION AND EMPLOYMENT

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

Issued: 06 May 2014

Chair: Mr Ewen Jones MP Deputy Chair: The Hon Alannah MacTiernan MP

Telephone: 02 6277 4573

Website: www.aph.gov.au/ee

Email: ee@aph.gov.au

## TAFE inquiry heads to Townsville

The Standing Committee on Education and Employment will be in Townsville tomorrow 07 May 2014, to continue its public hearing schedule for the inquiry into TAFE and its operations with a roundtable hearing to be held at the Townsville Trade Trading Centre.

The Committee is investigating the issues surrounding skills development, employment and further education pathways and the operation of a competitive training market. The Committee will meet with local business and industry representatives from Townsville and the surrounding areas to learn how these issues affect the wider community and receive feedback on suggested areas of improvement.

The Committee Chair and local Member for Herbert, Mr Ewen Jones MP, anticipates a robust discussion on TAFE which will provide valuable insight for the Committee.

"A healthy TAFE system is an important commodity to the community as a whole, as is a skilled and educated workforce. Getting the balance right between public and private training providers and educators, as well as ensuring that students receive quality training outcomes and pathways is crucial in supporting Australia's economic future," he said.

Submissions to this inquiry have closed. Submissions received can be viewed on the Committee website: http://www.aph.gov.au/ee

Details of the hearings are as follows:

Wednesday 07 May 2014 1:00 pm - 2:30 pm Barrier Reef Institute of TAFE Townsville Trade Training Centre 763 Ingham Road, Bohle, QLD

Please note the Townsville Trade Training Centre is a closed shoe environment. All visitors must wear enclosed footwear at all times.

Proceedings will be webcast at http://www.aph.gov.au/News and Events/Watch Parliament

Media inquiries: contact Kurt Fong on 0439 751 483 or 07 4725 2066

(Office of Ewen Jones MP)

For information on the inquiry: contact the Secretariat on (02) 6277 4573, email ee.reps@aph.gov.au or visit the Committee website at http://www.aph.gov.au/ee