ICJ AUSTRALIA

GPO Box 173 Sydney NSW 2001 Australia ' +61 (0)2 9266 0950

7 +61 (0)2 9266 0742 e* info@ICJ-Aust.org.au

WWW.ICJ-AUST.ORG.AU **ICJ GENEVA**

> President Ms Mary Robinson Former President of Ireland

> > Secretary-General Nicholas Howen

ICJ Vice-President & Australian Commissioner The Hon John Dowd AO QC

Australian Commissioner The Hon Justice Elizabeth Evatt AC

ICJ AUSTRALIA

NATIONAL SECTION

President The Hon John Dowd AO QC

National Vice-President The Hon Justice David Malcolm AC

Chairperson Steve Mark Legal Services Commissioner, NSW

> Secretary-General David Bitel Solicitor

etary-General I enclose a submission to the committee on behalf of International Commission of Jurists Australianana Gordon Treasurer

A submission on behalf of the Australian section is being prepared on the Inquiry into access to justice by the Victorian branch of International Commission of Jurists Australia (ICJA). STATE BRANCH PRESIDENTS

Either one of the other members of ICJA or I would be prepared to give evidence or to supplementational subject ACT material which we have provided.

I may be contacted on (02) 9266 0950 or via email at president@icj-aust.org.au.

Yours faithfully,

The Hon John Dowd AO QC President **ICJ AUSTRALIA**



INTERNATIONAL COMMISSION OF JURISTS

30 April 2009

Mr Peter Hallahan The Committee Secretary Standing Committee on Legal and Constitutional Affairs PO Box 6100 Parliament House CANBERRA ACT 2600

Dear Secretary,

Re: Inquiry into Australia's Judicial System and the role of judges Inquiry into access to justice

relation to the Inquiry into Australia's Judicial System and the role of judges. Tahlia Gordon

Australian Capital Territory

New South Wales Judge John O'Meally AM RFD President, Dust Diseases Tribunal of NSW

> Northern Territory Mr Colin McDonald QC William Forster Chambers, NT

> Queensland The Hon Justice Atkinson Supreme Court of Queensland

> > South Australia The Hon Justice Bleby Supreme Court of SA

Tasmania The Hon Justice Blow OAM Supreme Court of Tasmania

> Victoria Glenn McGowan SC

Western Australia The Hon Justice Nicholson AO Federal Court of Australia, WA