Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories

Inquiry into Australia's Antarctic Territory

Issue date: 18 October 2017

Australia's Antarctic science program

The future development of Australia's Antarctic science program will be the focus of a public hearing of a parliamentary inquiry considering Australia's Antarctic Territory on Thursday 19 October in Canberra.

The Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories will hear from a range of organisations and Australian Government agencies including the Australian Academy of Science, Geoscience Australia, and the Bureau of Meteorology. The Australian Maritime Safety Authority will also provide the Committee with an opportunity to better understand search and rescue activities and the prevention of shipping incidents and pollution in the Southern Ocean and Antarctic region.

Committee Chair, Mr Ben Morton MP, noted that "a robust and enduring scientific research program in the Australian Antarctic Territory underpins Australia's influence as part of the Antarctic Treaty System. Antarctica provides Australian scientists with a significant opportunity to undertake research that is firmly focused on the national interest and on broadening Australia's collaborative arrangements and resource sharing opportunities."

Further information, including submissions made to the inquiry, and the details of upcoming public hearings may be found on the Committee's <u>website</u>.

Public hearing details: 4:30 pm – 7:45 pm, Thursday, 19 October 2017, Committee Room 2S1, Parliament House, Canberra

4:30pm – 5:15pm: Australian Maritime Safety Authority (submission)

5:15pm – 6.00pm: Australian Academy of Science (submission)

6:15pm – 7.00pm: Geoscience Australia (submission)

7:00pm - 7:45pm: Bureau of Meteorology

The hearings will be broadcast live at aph.gov.au/live

Media enquiries:

Mr Ben Morton MP (Tangney, WA), Chair (08) 9354 9633

For background information:

Joint Standing Committee on the National Capital and External Territories (02) 6277 4355, jscncet@aph.gov.au

Interested members of the public may wish to track the committee via the <u>website</u>. Click on the blue 'Track Committee' button in the bottom right hand corner and use the forms to login to My Parliament or to register for a My Parliament account.

Media release issue date: 18 October 2017