

AUSTRALIAN SENATE

STANDING COMMITTEES ON RURAL AND REGIONAL AFFAIRS AND TRANSPORT LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

2 November 2020

Mr Shane Carmody Chief Executive Officer Civil Aviation Safety Authority

Via email: <u>ceo@casa.gov.au</u>

Dear Mr Carmody

Aviation Safety Advisory Panel

I write to you on behalf of the Senate Rural and Regional Affairs and Transport Legislation Committee (the committee), to bring to your attention to concerns raised with members of the committee around the makeup of the Aviation Safety Advisory Panel.

Various stakeholders have raised that there are currently no pilots' representatives on the Panel. Given the Panel's Terms of Reference stipulates that the CEO will 'seek membership nominations in order to establish the widest possible industry representation and expertise', a lack of a pilots' representative seems to indicate a significant gap in that expertise.

The committee would be grateful if you could respond to the concerns raised, and explain how CASA is ensuring all stakeholders' perspectives are represented given this apparent substantial omission.

If you have any questions concerning this request, please contact the committee's secretariat on 02 6277 3511.

Yours sincerely,

Senator Susan McDonald Chair



OFFICE OF THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

CASA Ref: GI20/996

5 November 2020

Senator Susan McDonald
Chair
Standing Committees on Rural and
Regional Affairs and Transport
Legislation Committee
PO Box 6100
Parliament House
CANBERRA ACT 2600

Email: rrat.sen@aph.gov.au

Dear Senator McDonald

Aviation Safety Advisory Panel (ASAP)

Thank you for your letter of 2 November 2020 regarding the composition of the ASAP.

Since establishing the ASAP in 2017, my objective has always been to harness broad industry representation and expertise, while maintaining a group that is small enough to effectively provide strategic advice. Under the Terms of Reference, members are required to represent the interests of the aviation industry at large, rather than the specific interests of a particular employer or industry body.

As part of its remit, the ASAP establishes Technical Working Groups (TWGs) which draw on wider industry expertise to support the ASAP's work and provide specialist advice. Since its establishment in 2017, the ASAP has appointed over 165 members of industry, including numerous pilots, to at least one of the 23 discrete TWGs.

I am surprised by the Committee's concerns about pilot expertise not being adequately represented on the ASAP. Of the nine members, seven hold pilot qualifications. In addition, ten of the currently active TWGs have members from professional pilot associations.

The ASAP's current members are as follows:

- Professor Patrick Murray, Independent Chair (former airline pilot)
- Mr Stuart Aggs, high capacity air transport
- Mr Mark Awad, recreational aviation
- Dr Reece Clothier, unmanned aerial vehicles

Facsimile: (02) 6217 1555

- Captain Ray Cronin, helicopters, aerial work
- Ms Adrianne Fleming, flight training, charter
- Mr John Gissing, high capacity air transport
- · Mr Malcolm Sharp, regional aviation
- · Mr Mark Thompson, engineering, airworthiness

CASA has recently refreshed the membership of the ASAP and will continue to draw upon appropriately qualified and experienced representatives from various sectors of the industry as positions become available.

Telephone: (02) 6217 1001

Facsimile: (02) 6217 1555

I trust this information is of assistance.

Yours sincerely

Shane Carmody Chief Executive Officer and Director of Aviation Safety