

THE SENATE

SELECT COMMITTEE ON FINANCIAL TECHNOLOGY AND REGULATORY TECHNOLOGY

Media release

Sydney public hearings

The Senate Select Committee on Financial Technology and Regulatory Technology will be conducting public hearings in Sydney on Wednesday 19 and Thursday 20 February 2020.

Additional public hearings will be held in Canberra on Thursday 27 February and Friday 28 February 2020. Programs for these later hearings will be made available on the committee website at

https://www.aph.gov.au/Parliamentary_Business/Committees/Senate/Financial_Techn ology_and_Regulatory_Technology

The programs for the Sydney public hearings are attached.

Further information

For further media comment contact the Office of Senator Andrew Bragg, Committee Chair on (02) 9159 9320.

For general information about the inquiry, contact the secretariat on 02 6277 3535, via email: <u>fintech.sen@aph.gov.au</u> or visit:

https://www.aph.gov.au/Parliamentary_Business/Committees/Senate/Financial_Techn ology_and_Regulatory_Technology/FinancialRegulatoryTech

Committee membership

Senator Andrew Bragg, Chair Senator Marielle Smith, Deputy Chair Senator Susan McDonald Senator Paul Scarr Senator Jess Walsh Senator Rex Patrick



THE SENATE SELECT COMMITTEE ON FINANCIAL TECHNOLOGY AND REGULATORY TECHNOLOGY

Public Hearing Program 19 February 2020 The Portside Centre, Level 5, Symantec House 207 Kent St, Sydney

Time Witness 8.00am Square Peg (Submission 54) Mr Tony Holt, Co-Founder and Partner **Piper Alderman** (Submission 56) 8.30am Mr Michael Bacina, Partner 9.00am **Stone and Chalk** (Submission 25) Mr Alex Scandurra, CEO Australian Banking Association (Submission 26) 9.40am Mr Aidan O'Shaughnessy, Executive Director, Policy Ms Fiona Landis, Acting Executive Director, Corporate Affairs 10.10am ANZ (Submission 20) 10.40 am Break 10.50am **Zip** (Submission116) Mr Peter Gray, Co-Founder and Chief Operating Officer 11.30am **StartUpAus** (Submission 5) Mr Peter Bradd, Chair 12.05pm **Tic:Toc** (Submission 127) Mr Anthony Baum, Founder and CEO 12.40pm Lunch break 2.20pm Australian Payments Network (Submission 99) Mr Andy White, EDO 34 South 45 North Consulting (Submission 66) Dr Bradley Pragnell, Principal (via teleconference) 3.10pm Break 3.20pm Financial Rights Legal Centre and Consumer Action Law Centre (Submission 36) Mr Drew MacRae, Policy and Advocacy Officer 86,400 (Submission 31) 4.00pm Mr Robert Bell, CEO 4.30pm **Gateway Network Governance Body** (Submission 91)

PO Box 6100, Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Tel: 02) 6277 3535 Fax: (02) 6277 5818 Email: <u>fintech.sen@aph.gov.au</u> Internet: <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/senate_FinRegtech</u>

5.00pm	Baker McKenzie (Submission 63)
5.30 pm	Adjournment



THE SENATE SELECT COMMITTEE ON FINANCIAL TECHNOLOGY AND REGULATORY TECHNOLOGY

Public Hearing Program 20 February 2020 The Portside Centre, Level 5, Symantec House

207 Kent St, Sydney

Time	Witness
8.00am	Power Ledger (Submission 1)
	Dr Jemma Green. Co-Founder and Executive Chairman (via
	teleconference)
	Fabrick Innovations (Submission 93)
	Mr Heath Behncke, Executive Chair
	ASX (Submission 45)
	Mr Peter Hiom, Deputy CEO
	Mr Cliff Richards, Executive General Manager, Equity Post-Trade
	Services
	Mr Dan Chesterman, Chief Information Officer
8.50am	Super Consumers Australia (Submission 49)
	Ms Erin Turner, Director of Campaigns and Communications
	Ms Rebecca Curran, Senior Policy Advisor
9.20am	H2 Ventures (Submission 35)
	Mr Ben Heap, Founding Partner
9.50am	Afterpay (Submission 83)
10.20	
10.20am	Break
10.30am	DC Consulting and Management Pty Ltd (Submission 101)
	Mr David Columbro, Director
11.00am	Australian Investment Council (Submission 12)
	Mr Yasser El-Ansary, Chief Executive
	Mr Brendon Harper, Head of Policy and Research
11.20	Ms Robyn Tolhurst, Public Affairs Manager
11.30am	NPP Australia (Submission 24)
12.00pm	Mr Adrian Lovney, CEO Lunch break
12.00pm 1.00pm	Australian Finance Industry Association (Submission 87)
1.00pm	Ms Diane Tate, CEO

PO Box 6100, Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Tel: 02) 6277 3535 Fax: (02) 6277 5818 Email: <u>fintech.sen@aph.gov.au</u> Internet: <u>http://www.aph.gov.au/senate_FinRegtech</u>

	Brighte (Submission 40)
	Ms Katherine McConnell, CEO
1.40pm	Business Council of Australia (Submission 125)
	Mr Simon Pryor, Executive Director, Policy
	Mr Pero Stojanovski, Senior Economist
2.10pm	Finder (Submission 70)
_	Mr Fred Schbesta, CEO and Co-Founder
2.40pm	Break
2.50pm	Australian Computer Society (Submission 3)
	Mr Andrew Johnson, CEO
2.20	
3.20pm	Adjournment