

#### JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON TREATIES

# Agreement between the United Arab Emirates and Australia on the Promotion and Protection of Investments

### PUBLIC HEARING Thursday 30 January 2025

#### Committee Room 2R1 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
12.30 pm	Panel 1 (Agriculture): Australian Meat Industry Council (AMIC) Mr Timothy Ryan, Interim Chief Executive Officer
	Australian Dairy Farmers Mr Nathan Pope, Policy Manager
	Australian Dairy Products Federation (ADPF) Mr John Williams, Executive Chair
	Australian Livestock Exporters' Council Mr Scott Kompm-Harms, Deputy CEO Mr Mark Harvey-Sutton, Chief Executive Officer
	Dairy Australia Mr Karl Ellis, Manager Economic Sustainability and Competitiveness
1.15 pm	Panel 2 (Business): The Australian Industry Group Ms Hnin Nwe Oo, Economic Policy Analyst Ms Louise McGrath, Head of Industry Development and Policy
2.00 pm	Panel 3 (Unions/Civil Society): Australian Council of Trade Unions Ms Clare Middlemas, Senior International Officer Mr Liam O'Brien, Assistant Secretary
	Australian Fair Trade and Investment Network Dr Patricia Ranald, Convener
	NSW Nurses and Midwives Association/Australian Nursing and Midwifery Foundation Mr Mark Dunstan, Lead Industrial

#### JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON TREATIES

Agreement between the United Arab Emirates and Australia on the Promotion and Protection of Investments

## Panel 4 (Government): 2.45 pm The Department of Industry, Science and Resources (DISR) Ms Alison Drury, General Manager, Trade and International Branch Mr Matthew Deady, Manager, Trade Policy and Programs Section The Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry (DAFF) Mr Brett Hughes, Director **Australian Border Force** Ms Kimberlee Clydesdale, Assistant Secretary - Customs and Trade Policy Mrs Tharanie Vithanage, First Assistant Secretary - Strategy and Policy Division Mr Cody Wilson, A/g Director – Trade and Tariff Policy The Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) Ms Gemma Huggins, Assistant Secretary, Middle East Branch Mr Daniel Bui, Director, Bilateral and Regional Digital Section Ms Celina Smith, Assistant Director Mr Liam Watson, A/g Director, FTA Goods Market Access and Rules Section Ms Joanne Lovejoy, Director, Mobility and Mutual Recognition Section Mrs Lillian Riches, Director- Legal | FTAs and Emerging Issues Law Section (FLS) Mr Laurence Sanders, Assistant Director, International Intellectual Property Section Ms Jessica Allen, Deputy Chief Negotiator, Australia-UAE CEPA Ms Jessie Street, Acting Director Mr Ravi Kewalram, First Assistant Secretary Mr James Yeomans, A/g Assistant Secretary FTA Services Mobility and Coordination Branch | Free Trade Agreements and Stakeholder Engagement Division Ms Kate Finney, Assistant Director - Legal Mr James Turner, Assistant Director, Industrial Policy and Government Procurement

3.30 pm

Adjournment

Ms Naomi Mason, Treaties Manager