

FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE REFERENCES COMMITTEE

Australia's sanctions regime

PUBLIC HEARING Friday 15 November 2024

Committee Room 2S1 Australian Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Dr Anton Moiseienko, via videoconference (Submission 1)
	Australian National University Law Reform and Social Justice Research Hub (Submission 21) Mr Max Thomas, Student Researcher Mr Fabian Bonacci, Student Researcher Ms Esther Bornstein, Student Researcher Ms Bridie Liu, Student Researcher
9.45 am	Australian Centre for International Justice, via videoconference (Submission 12) Ms Rawan Arraf, Principal Lawyer & Executive Director Ms Lara Khider, Senior Lawyer
	Mr Geoffrey Robertson AO KC, via videoconference (Submission 45)
	Human Rights Watch, via videoconference (Submission 15) Ms Daniela Gavshon, Australia Director
10.30 am	Morning Tea
11.00 am	Ukrainian Council of NSW (Submission 44) Mr Andrew Mencinsky, Vice President

FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE REFERENCES COMMITTEE Australia's sanctions regime

11.30 am	Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (Submission 9) Ms Julie Heckscher, First Assistant Secretary, Regulatory and Legal Policy Division Ms Megan Anderson, A/g First Assistant Secretary, Europe Division Dr Peter Sawczak, First Assistant Secretary, Geostrategy and Partnerships Division Ms Robyn Mudie, First Assistant Secretary, Southeast Asia Regional and Mainland Division Mr Daniel Sloper, First Assistant Secretary, East Asia Division Mr Richard Feakes, Ambassador for Counter-Terrorism Ms Lynn Bell, Ambassador to Counter Modern Slavery, People Smuggling and Human Trafficking Mr Brendan Dowling, Ambassador for Cyber Affairs and Critical Technology Ms Bronte Moules, Ambassador for Human Rights Department of Home Affairs (Submission 25) Mr James Ryan, Superintendent, Customs Enforcement, Australian Border Force Mr Tony Smith, Assistant Commissioner Customs, Australian Border Force Australian Federal Police (Submission 26) Mr Adam Rice, Acting Assistant Commissioner Criminal Assets Confiscation, via videoconference Mr Anthony Maguire, Acting Commander of Cyber Crime Operations Mr Mark Rowswell, Acting Superintendent of Cyber Crime Operations and Partnerships Attorney-General's Department (Submission 27) Ms Nina Harvey, Assistant Secretary, Office of International Law, International Law
	and Human Rights Division
1.00 pm	Lunch break
1.45 pm	Myanmar Campaign Network, via videoconference (Submission 32) Ms Tasneem Roc, Campaign Manager Professor Htwe Htwe Thein, Associate Professor, Curtin University Australia Tibet Council (Submission 39) Dr Zoe Bedford, Executive Officer, via videoconference Mr Sonam Gyeltshen, Digital Campaigner, via videoconference
2.15 pm	Uniting Church in Australia, Synod of Victoria and Tasmania (Submission 24) Dr Mark Zirnsak, Senior Social Justice Advocate, via videoconference
	Transparency International Australia (Submission 18) Mr Clancy Moore, Chief Executive Officer
2.45 pm	Adjournment
	1