

SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE TASMANIAN FREIGHT EQUALISATION SCHEME

Select Committee on the Tasmanian Freight Equalisation Scheme

PUBLIC HEARING Wednesday 13 November 2024

110 Liverpool Street Hobart

Time	Witness
9.00 am	The Freight Scheme Experts (Submission 18) Mr Lee Panton, Director
9.30 am	The Wildernes Society Ms Alice Hardinge, Tasmanian Campaigns Manager
	Bob Brown Foundation Mr Eric Hayward, Campaigner
	Environmental Justice Australia (by teleconference) Ms Natalie Hogan, Senior Lawyer Mr Luke Chamberlain, Campaign and Policy Officer
10.00 am	Fruit Growers Tasmania Inc. (Submission 20) Mr Peter Cornish, Chief Executive Officer
10.30 am	Morning tea
10.45 am	Tasmanian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (by teleconference) (Submission 4) Mr Michael Bailey OAM, Chief Executive Officer
	Wine Tasmania (Submission 5) Ms Sheralee Davies, Chief Executive Officer Mr Martin Reeves, Chair Mr Tim Lyne, Director
11.30 am	Tasmanian Forest Products Association (Submission 11) Mr Nick Steel, Chief Executive Officer Mr David Bauche, Media and Public Relations Manager
11.50 am	Norske Skog Boyer Mill (Submission 9) Mr Rod Bender, Vice President, Business Development Mr David Quinn, Managing Director - Bartholomew Quinn and Associates Pty Ltd Mr Patrick Dooley, General Manager - Boyer Mill Mr Arnold Willems, Commerical Manager
12.15 pm	Lunch
1.00 pm	Corinna Economic Advisory Mr Saul Eslake, Economist

SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE TASMANIAN FREIGHT EQUALISATION SCHEME Select Committee on the Tasmanian Freight Equalisation Scheme

1.30 pm	Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development, Communications and the Arts (Submission 1) Mr Jack McAuley, Director, Infrastructure and Surface Transport Statistics, Bureau of Infrastructure and Transport Research Economics Ms Georgia O'Cianain, Assistant Secretary, Bureau of Infrastructure and Transport Research Economics Ms Megan Scott, Assistant Secretary, Maritime and Shipping Branch, Surface Transport Emissions and Policy Division Mr Tristan Kathage, A/g First Assistant Secretary, Surface Transport Emissions and Policy Division Mr Philip Smurthwaite, Director, Regulations and Program, Maritime and Shipping Branch, Surface Transport Emissions and Policy Division Services Australia Ms Lauren Callinan, National Manger, Tailored Programs Mr Tony Piazza, General Manager, Families, Indigenous and Tailored Programs
2.30 pm	TasPorts Mr Anthony Donald, Chief Executive Officer Tasmanian Government (Submission 2) Mr Hon. Eric Abetz MP, Minister for Transport Mr James Verrier, Director, Transport Systems Policy Ms Cynthia Heydon, Deputy Secretary, Transport
3.30 pm	Adjournment