

SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE IMPACT OF CLIMATE RISK ON INSURANCE PREMIUMS AND AVAILABILITY

Impact of Climate Risk on Insurance Premiums and Availability

PUBLIC HEARING Tuesday 1 October 2024

Committee Room 2S1 Australian Parliament House, Canberra

| Time | Witness |
|----------|---|
| 9.00 am | National Emergency Management Agency NEMA (Submission 14) Mr Andrew Minack, First Assistant Coordinator-General Policy & Governance Ms Hannah Wandel, First Assistant Coordinator-General FACG Programs |
| 10.00 am | CSIRO (Submission 17) Dr Dan Metcalfe, Director Environment Research Unit |
| | Bureau of Meteorology Ms Vicki Woodburn, Group Executive, Australian Climate Service |
| | Geoscience Australia Dr John Dawson, Branch Head, Community Safety Branch, Place and Communities Division Mr Mark Edwards, Director, Vulnerability resilience & Mitigation, Community Safety Branch, Place and Communities Division |
| 11.00 am | Break |
| 11.10 am | Insurance Council of Australia (Submission 2) Ms Kylie MacFarlane, Chief Operating Officer Ms Alexandra Hordern, General Manager, Regulatory and Consumer Policy |
| 12.10 pm | Break |
| 1.15 pm | CHOICE Ms Rosie Thomas, Director, Campaigns and Communications (via videoconference) |
| | Financial Rights Legal Centre (Submission 45) Ms Julia Davis, Senior Policy & Communications Officer |
| | Financial Counselling Australia Ms Vicki Staff, National Coordinator for Disaster Recovery |

SELECT COMMITTEE ON THE IMPACT OF CLIMATE RISK ON INSURANCE PREMIUMS AND AVAILABILITY Impact of Climate Risk on Insurance Premiums and Availability

| 2.15 pm | Australian National University Institute For Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions (Submission 30) Associate Professor Roslyn Prinsley, Head of Disaster Solutions, Institute for Climate, Energy & Disaster Solutions Associate Professor Caroline E. Schuster James Cook University - Centre for Disaster Studies Adjunct Professor David King (via videoconference) |
|---------|--|
| 3.15 pm | Break |
| 3.25 pm | Good Shepherd (Submission 38) Dr Jozica Kutin, General Manager Policy, Advocacy and Service Impact Bushfire Survivors for Climate Action (Submission 34) Ms Serena Joyner, Chief Executive Officer |
| 4.00 pm | QBE Australia Mr Andrew Ziolkowski, Chief Underwriting and Transformation Officer (via videoconference) Mr Chris Esson, Chief Financial Officer (via videoconference) |
| 4.40 pm | Adjournment |