

## LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

## Commission of Inquiry into Antisemitism at Australian Universities Bill 2024 (No. 2)

## PUBLIC HEARING Friday 20 September 2024

## Committee Room 2S3, Parliament House Canberra

Time	Witness
8.30 am	Panel: Australasian Union of Jewish Students (Submission 134) Mr Noah Loven, President Mr Zachary Morris, Vice-President
	Australian Academic Alliance Against Antisemitism (Submission 603) Professor Steven Prawer, Co-Director Associate Professor Efrat Eilam, Co-Director (via videoconference)
9.15 am	Panel: Executive Council of Australian Jewry (ECAJ) (via videoconference) (Submission 97) Mr Peter Wertheim AM, Co-CEO Ms Simone Abel, Head of Legal
	<b>Zionist Federation of Australia (via videoconference)</b> (Submission 114) Mr Jeremy Leibler, President Mr Alon Cassuto, Chief Executive Officer
	Australia/Israel & Jewish Affairs Council (AIJAC) (via videoconference) (Submi ssion 136) Dr Colin Rubenstein AM, Executive Director
10.00 am	Morning tea
10.15 am	Jewish Council of Australia (via videoconference) (Submission 181) Ms Sarah Schwartz, Executive Officer Dr Elizabeth Strakosch, Executive Officer
10.45 am	Australian Centre for Jewish Civilisation, Monash University (Submission 124) Dr David Slucki, Director
11.15 am	Panel: Universities Australia (Submission 112) Mr Luke Sheehy, Chief Executive Officer
	Group of Eight (Go8) (Submission 135) Dr Matthew Brown, Deputy Chief Executive

12.00 pm	Panel: Deakin University (Submission 25) Professor Iain Martin, Vice-Chancellor
	<b>UNSW Sydney (via videoconference)</b> (Submission 129) Professor Attila Brungs, Vice-Chancellor and President Mr David Cross, Chief of Staff, Office of the Vice-Chancellor and President
	<b>University of Sydney</b> (Submission 130) Professor Mark Scott AO, Vice-Chancellor and President
	<b>University of Melbourne</b> (Submission 139) Professor Nicola Phillips, A/g Vice-Chancellor
	<b>University of Adelaide (via videoconference)</b> (Submission 150) Professor John Williams AM, Provost Mr Peter Prest, Chief Operating Officer
	Monash University (Submission 175) Professor Sharon Pickering, Vice-Chancellor and President
	Australian National University (ANU) Professor Genevieve Bell AO, Vice-Chancellor and President
12.45 pm	Lunch
1.30 pm	Muslim Votes Matter (via videoconference) (Submission 141) Mr Ghaith Krayem, Spokesperson
2.00 pm	Panel: National Tertiary Education Union (via videoconference) (Submission 122) Ms Gabrielle Gooding, National Assistant Secretary
	National Union of Students Mr Sa'Jacinto Hedus, Ethnocultural Officer
2.30 pm	Australian Human Rights Commission (via videoconference) (Submission 142) Mr Hugh de Kretser, President Mr Giridharan Sivaraman, Race Discrimination Commissioner Mrs Lorraine Finlay, Human Rights Commissioner
3.00 pm	Panel: Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA) (Submission 153) Ms Adrienne Nieuwenhuis, A/g Chief Commissioner Dr Mary Russell, CEO
	<b>Department of Education</b> ( <i>Submission 286</i> ) Ms Madonna Morton, First Assistant Secretary, Higher Education Division Ms Kate Chipperfield, Assistant Secretary, Equity and Social Inclusion Branch
	Attorney-General's Department (Submission 286) Ms Anne Sheehan, First Assistant Secretary, International Law and Human Rights Division Ms Ayesha Nawaz, Assistant Secretary, Human Rights Branch
4.00 pm	Adjournment