

JOINT COMMITTEES

JOINT STANDING COMMITTEE ON ELECTORAL MATTERS

Inquiry into civics education, engagement, and participation in Australia

PUBLIC HEARING Thursday 23 May 2024

Committee Room 1R2 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
10.00 am	Australian Curriculum, Assessment, and Reporting Authority Mr Stephen Gniel, Chief Executive Officer (A/g) Ms Sharon Foster, Executive Director - Curriculum Mr Russell Dyer, Executive Director - Assessment and Reporting
10.30 am	 Department of Education Ms Julie Birmingham, First Assistant Secretary - Teaching and Learning Ms Madonna Morton, First Assistant Secretary - Higher Education Mrs Nina Downes, Assistant Secretary (A/g) - Curriculum and Learning Office for Youth Ms Gemma Sandlant, Assistant Secretary
11.15 am	Break
11.30 am	Australian Media Literacy Alliance Ms Anita Planchon, Chair Mrs Christine Evely, Co-Chair Ms Patricia Hepworth, Member
12.00 pm	Australian Electoral Commission (Submission 15) Mr Tom Rogers, Electoral Commissioner Mr Jeff Pope, Deputy Electoral Commissioner Ms Kath Gleeson, First Assistant Commissioner - Service Delivery Mr Michael Lynch, First Assistant Commissioner - Electoral Integrity and Operations Mr Andrew Johnson, Chief Legal Officer Ms Cathie Kennedy, Assistant Commissioner (A/g) - Communication, Education and Engagement
12.45 pm	Break
1.30 pm	Australian Council for Student Voice Mr Mitchell Sprague, Executive Director Mr Flynn O'Hallahan, Chair
	Foundation for Young Australians Molly Whelan, Chief Executive Officer Ms Tahlia Azaria, Executive Director - Young Mayors
2.15 pm	Break

2.30 pm	Panel: academic and policy experts: Dr Keith Heggart, University of Technology Sydney (Submission 13)
	Dr Tanya Notley, Western Sydney University
	Dr Zareh Ghazarian, Monash University (Submission 12)
	Dr Elizabeth Tudball, Monash University
4.00 pm	Close