

THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

STANDING COMMITTEE ON ECONOMICS

Inquiry into insurers' responses to 2022 major floods claims

PUBLIC HEARING Thursday 11 April 2024

Invercauld House 163 Invercauld Rd, Goonellabah, Lismore

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Lismore City Council Mayor Steve Krieg Ms Katherine O'Regan, Head, Investment and Growth Richmond Valley Council
	Ms Angela Jones, Director Community Service Delivery
	Byron Shire Council (Submission 54) Mr Mark Arnold, General Manager Mrs Esmeralda Davis, Director, Corporate and Community Affairs Ms Sarah Boulle, Recovery Coordinator
	Clarence Valley Council Councillor Steve Pickering, Councillor Councillor Debrah Novak, Councillor
	Tweed Shire Council Mr Danny Rose, Acting Director Engineering
10.05 am	Break

STANDING COMMITTEE ON ECONOMICS Inquiry into insurers' responses to 2022 major floods claims

1.05 pm	Mr Aran Matkevich, Solicitor Lunch
	Northern Rivers Community Legal Centre Ms Patricia MacFarlane, Lead Solicitor, Disaster Response and Recovery Team Mr. Aran Mathavish, Solicitor
	Legal Aid NSW (Submission 34) Ms Elizabeth Lehmann, Senior Outreach Solicitor, Disaster Response Legal Service
	Social Futures Ms Lucie White, Program Manager Service Delivery
	Mr Jonathan Smith, Field Coordinator
12.15 pm	Resilient Lismore Ms Elly Bird, Executive Director
12.10 pm	Break
	Ms Kate Olivieri, Private Capacity
	Ms Aveley McCann, Private Capacity
	Mr Le Khanh (Henry) Luong, Private Capacity
	Southern Cross University Dr Hanabeth Luke, Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Science and Engineering
	Ms Terry Lawrence, Private Capacity
11.20 am	Community statements: Mr Doug Foskey, Private Capacity
11.15 am	Break
	Our Future Northern Rivers Mr Thomas Trevan, Spokesperson Ms Elizabeth Trevan, Coordinator
	Nickel Energy and Hotel Metropole Mr Nick Lake, Director
	Byron Bay Chamber of Commerce Mr Matt Williamson, President
	Business Lismore Mr Ben Andersen, President
	Living School Mr John Stewart, Founder and Conductor
	Summerland Bank Mr John Williams, Chief Executive Officer
10.10 am	Business NSW Ms Jane Laverty, Regional Director, Northern Rivers Region

Committee Secretary: Jeff Norris
PO Box 6021, Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Tel: (02) 6277 4587
Email: economics.reps@aph.gov.au Internet: www.aph.gov.au/Economics

STANDING COMMITTEE ON ECONOMICS Inquiry into insurers' responses to 2022 major floods claims

1.40 pm	Northern Rivers Flood Action Group (Submission 51) Mr Tony Carusi, President Mr Neale Hundy, Owner Woodburn IGA and Super Cellars Ms Kath Cremin, Secretary and Treasurer Woodburn Business & Community Chamber Mrs Tania Hundy, Vice-President Sunshine Sugar Mr Chris Connors, Chief Executive Officer
2.30 pm	Break
2.35 pm	Community statements: Ms Joanne Bradbury, Private Capacity Belisa Pty Ltd Mr Richard Jones, Managing Director Mr Colin McAndrew, Private Capacity Mr Steuart McPherson, Private Capacity Mr Paul Thomas, Private Capacity Ms Peggy O'Connor, Private Capacity Ms Svea Pitman, Private Capacity Richmond River Crane Growers Association Mr Leslie Geoffrey Pye, Chair
3.10 pm	New South Wales Parliament Ms Janelle Saffin, Member for Lismore, and Chair, Northern Rivers Community Leaders Forum
3.40 pm	Finish