

ECONOMICS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Offshore Petroleum and Greenhouse Gas Storage Legislation Amendment (Safety and Other Measures) Bill 2024 [Provisions]

PUBLIC HEARING Thursday 14 March 2024

Committee Room 2S1 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
9.30 am	Australian Energy Producers (Submission 21) Ms Samantha McCulloch, Chief Executive
	Santos Limited Ms Tracey Winters, Chief Strategy Office and Chief of Staff Mr Michael Abbott, Group General Counsel and Executive Vice President Environment and Governance
	Chevron Australia Ms Michelle La Point, General Manager of Asset Development Ms Kathyrn Barrass, Senior Legal Counsel Ms Melissa Smith, Manager Aboriginal Affairs
10.05 am	The Australia Institute (Submission 8) Mr Mark Ogge, Principal Advisor Dr Matthew Ryan, Postdoctoral Research Fellow
10.25 am	Maritime Union of Australia (Submission 10) Mr Glen Williams, Newcastle Branch Secretary and National Vice President Dr Penny Howard, National Research and Policy Officer
	Australian Workers Union Mr Zach Duncalfe, Senior National Legal Officer and Offshore Alliance Coordinator
	Electrical Trades Union (Submission 20) Mr Matthew Murphy, National Industry Coordinator
10.50 am	Saltwater People Dr Jack Pascoe
	Torres Strait 8 Mr Daniel Billy Mr Kabay Tamu
11.15 am	Top End Aboriginal Coastal Alliance Incorporated Mr Bobby Wunungmurra, Founding Member Mr Wayne Wauchope, Fundraising Officer
11.35 am	Break

11.50 am	Australian Conservation Foundation (Submission 16) Mr Brendan Sydnes, National Biodiversity Policy Adviser Mx Annika Reynolds, National Climate Policy Adviser
	Australian Marine Conservation Society (Submission 22) Ms Louise Morris, Campaign Manager
12.15 pm	Environmental Justice Australia (Submission 23) Sam Moorhead, Lawyer
	Environment Centre NT Dr Kirsty Howey, Executive Director
	Friends of the Earth Mr Jeff Waters, Offshore Fossil Gas Campaigner Ms Freja Leonard, No More Gas Campaigner
12.45 pm	Ms Therese Bourke, Tiwi Islands Traditional Owner and Senior of the Malawu Clan
	Pirrawayingi, Tiwi Islands Traditional Owner and Senior Elder of the Munupi Clan
	Ms Antonia Burke, Tiwi Islands Lead Campaigner and Human Rights Advocate
	Save Our Songlines Ms Raelene Cooper, Lead Campaigner
1.20 pm	Department of Industry, Science and Resources (Submission 15) Mr Robert Jeremenko, Head of Division - Oil and Gas Division Ms Narelle Laucher, General Manager - Offshore Strategy Branch
	NOPSEMA (Submission 2) Ms Sue McCarey, Chief Executive Officer Mr Cameron Grebe, Deputy Chief Executive Officer - Strategic Regulation and Improvement
	Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water Mr Shane Gaddes, Division Head - Net Zero Industries Division Mr Bruce Edwards, Division Head - Nature Positive Regulation Division Ms Kylie Calhoun, Branch Head - Environmental Assessments West (NT/SA/WA) Branch
2.00 pm	Adjournment
1	