

FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Australian Naval Nuclear Power Safety Bill 2023 [Provisions] and Australian Naval Nuclear Power Safety (Transitional Provisions) Bill 2023 [Provisions]

PUBLIC HEARING Wednesday 13 March 2024

Main Committee Room, Australian Parliament House, CANBERRA

Time	Witness
10.00 am	Royal Institution of Naval Architects Mr Robin Gehling, Secretary, Australia Division Mrs Sarah Watts, Chair, Safety Committee (via videoconference) EUR ING Robin Townsend, Fellow (via videoconference) Dr Lynn Williams, Nuclear Safety Consultant (via videoconference)
10.45 am	Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation Mr Shaun Jenkinson, Chief Executive Officer Mr Mark Alexander, Manager, Nuclear-Powered Submarine Working Group
11.30 am	Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency Dr Gillian Hirth, Chief Executive Officer Mr James Scott, Chief Regulatory Officer Mr Martin Reynolds, General Counsel Mr Ryan Hemsley, Principle Adviser
12.30 pm	Lunch Break
1.00 pm	Independent and Peaceful Australia Network Mr Jonathan Pilbrow, Executive Officer (via videoconference) Ms Kathryn Kelly, Public Officer (via videoconference)
	Australian Conservation Foundation Mr Adam Beeson, General Counsel (via videoconference) Mr Dave Sweeney, Nuclear Policy Analyst (via videoconference)
	International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (Australia) Dr Tilman Ruff, Board Member (via videoconference)
2.00 pm	Australian Shipbuilding Federation of Unions Dr Katherine Hepworth, National Policy Director, Electrical Trades Union (via videoconference) Dr Mark Dean, National Research and Planning Officer, Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union (via videoconference)

FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE LEGISLATION COMMITTEE
Australian Naval Nuclear Power Safety Bill 2023 [Provisions] and Australian Naval Nuclear Power Safety (Transitional Provisions) Bill 2023 [Provisions]

2.45 pm	Department of Defence Mr John Reid, Deputy Secretary Governance Mr Peter Kitchen, Assistant Director-General Domestic Nuclear Policy Legal Advisor Mr Bernard Philip, First Assistant Secretary International Policy Division Mr Kim Moy, Assistant Director-General Domestic Nuclear Policy Branch RADM Katherine Richards, Head Nuclear-Powered Submarine Regulatory Design
	Australian Submarine Agency Mr Tim Hodgson, Deputy Director-General Technical Ms Michele Miller, Head Stewardship and Security Division RADM Matthew Buckley, Head Nuclear Submarine Capability
3.45 pm	Adjournment