

## LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

## Copyright Legislation Amendment (Fair Pay for Radio Play) Bill 2023

## PUBLIC HEARING Thursday 7 March 2024

## **Committee Room 2S3 Parliament House, Canberra**

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Panel: Southern Cross Austereo (Submission 4) Mr John Kelly, Chief Executive Officer
	<b>ARN Media Limited</b> (Submission 6) Ms Fiona Ellis-Jones, Head of News and Information
	Capital Radio Network (Submission 7) Mr Joshua Matthews, Chief Operating Officer
	<b>Commercial Radio and Audio</b> (Submission 28) Mr Ford Ennals, Chief Executive Officer Mr Ciaran Davis, Chair Ms Sarah Kruger, Head of Policy and Legal Affairs
	ACE Radio Network (Submission 8) Mr Rowland Paterson, Owner
10.00 am	Morning tea
10.10 am	<b>Panel:</b> International Federation of the Phonographic Industry (via videoconference) (Su bmission 19) Mr Lauri Rechardt, Chief Legal Officer
	<b>Phonographic Performance Company of Australia</b> (Submission 35) Ms Annabelle Herd, Chief Executive Officer Ms Lynne Small, Chief Operating Officer
	Australian Recording Industry Association (Submission 36) Ms Annabelle Herd, Chief Executive Officer Ms Lynne Small, Chief Operating Officer

11.10 am	Panel:Association of Artist Managers (Submission 45)Ms Maggie Collins, Executive DirectorMr John Watson, PatronMs Holly Rankin, Private capacityMr Paul Dempsey, Private capacityMr Mark Seymour, Private capacitySupport Act Limited (via teleconference) (Submission 23)Mr Clive Miller, Chief Executive Officer
11.55 am	Lunch
12.25 pm	Panel:Mushroom Group (Submission 29)Mr Christopher Maund, Chief Operating Officer
	<b>Sony Music Entertainment Australia Pty Ltd</b> (Submission 30) Ms Vanessa Picken, Chair and Chief Executive Officer
	<b>Universal Music Australia Pty Limited</b> (Submission 31) Mr Sean Warner, President and Chief Executive Officer
	Warner Music Australia (Submission 18) Mr Dan Rosen, President, Autralasia
1.25 pm	Panel: Media Arts Lawyers (Submission 3) Ms Mary Whitehead, Lawyer
	Australian Copyright Council (Submission 11) Ms Eileen Camilleri, Chief Executive Officer
	Law Council of Australia (Submission 38) Mr Angus Lang, Outgoing National Chair, Intellectual Property Committee, Business Law Section Dr Warwick Rothnie, Member
	Australian Independent Record Labels Association Ms Maria Amato, Chief Executive Officer
2.10 pm	MEAA/Genuine Article (Submission 5) Ms Susan Crotchin, Founding member Mr Paul Davies, Campaign Director Dr Rod Davies, Member representative
2.55 pm	Afternoon tea
3.05 pm	<b>Panel:</b> Australian Broadcasting Corporation (via teleconference) (Submission 9) Ms Kate Gilchrist, Head Content and Legal Operations Mr David Sutton, Senior Strategist
	<b>Special Broadcasting Service (via teleconference)</b> (Submission 24) Ms Clare O'Neil, Director, Corporate Affairs Ms Lucinda Edwards, Senior Legal Counsel

3.50 pm	Attorney-General's Department (Submission 27) Ms Jenna Priestly, Assistant Secretary, Commercial and Copyright Law Branch Ms Alice Linacre, First Assistant Secretary; Courts, Tribunals and Commercial Division
4.15 pm	Adjournment