

#### THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

### SELECT COMMITTEE ON WORKFORCE AUSTRALIA EMPLOYMENT SERVICES

### **Inquiry into Workforce Australia Employment Services**

### PUBLIC HEARING Wednesday 20 September 2023

## Committee Room 2R1 Parliament House, Canberra, and by videoconference

Time	Witness
8.30 am	Panel - academic and policy experts: Brotherhood of St Laurence (Submission 256) Dr Travers McLeod, Executive Director Ms Cara Nolan, Senior Advisor  Centre for Policy Development (Submission 256) Ms Annabel Brown, Deputy Chief Executive Officer  University of Melbourne (Submission 256) Dr Michael McGann, Lecturer in Political Science
9.30 am	Government of Victoria (Submission 278) Ms Lill Healy, Deputy Secretary - Skills and Employment Ms Laura Trengove, Executive Director - Strategy and Engagement
10.00 am	Panel - provider peaks: National Employment Services Association (NESA) (Submission 260) Ms Kathryn Mandla, Chief Executive Officer Ms Annette Gill, Principal Policy Advisor  Jobs Australia (Submission 185) Mr Bryan McCormick, Senior Advisory - Government and Policy Mrs Amanda Petts, Relationship Engagement Coordinator
11.00 am	Break
11.15 am	Employment services participants
12.45 pm	Break
1.30 pm	Australian Taxation Office (ATO) Ms Larissa Evans, Assistant Commissioner - Data and Services Ms Usha Narain, Deputy Commissioner (A/g) - Superannuation and Employer Obligations

# SELECT COMMITTEE ON WORKFORCE AUSTRALIA EMPLOYMENT SERVICES Inquiry into Workforce Australia Employment Services

2.00 pm	Department of Employment and Workplace Relations (Submission 254) Ms Melissa Ryan, First Assistant Secretary - Workforce Australia for Individuals Ms Miranda Lauman, First Assistant Secretary - Workforce Australia for Business Mr Alistair Beasley, First Assistant Secretary (A/g) - Evidence and Assurance Ms Belinda Catelli, Assistant Secretary - Activities and Experience Dr Louise O'Rance, Assistant Secretary - Data Management and Reporting Ms Deborah Brown, Assistant Secretary (A/g) - Workforce Australia Inquiry Taskforce Ms Melissa Carney, Director - Digital Services Team Mr Niran Gunawardena, Director - Workforce Australia Inquiry Taskforce Mr Alex Harvey, Assistant Secretary - National Workforce Solutions
3.30 pm	Break
3.45 pm	Jobs and Skills Australia Mr David Turvey, First Assistant Secretary - Jobs and Skills Australia Mr Cliff Bingham, Assistant Secretary - Labour Market Research and Analysis
4.15 pm	Adjournment