

LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE

Current and proposed sexual consent laws in Australia

PUBLIC HEARING Tuesday 25 July 2023

Main Committee Room Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
8.30 am	Presentation of 'Asking for it': Ms Jess Hill, Presenter and Consultant Producer (via videoconference)
	Ms Tosca Looby, Creative Director, Northern Pictures and SBS
10.00 am	Panel: National Women's Safety Alliance (Submission 32) Ms Katherine Berney, Director
	Consent Labs (Submission 30) Ms Angelique Wan, Chief Executive Officer and Co-Founder Ms Julia Cooper, Executive Director, Head of Legal Research
	Teach Us Consent (via videoconference) (Submission 32) Ms Chanel Contos, Founder and Chief Executive Officer
11.00 am	Morning tea
11.15 am	Rape & Sexual Assault Research & Advocacy Dr Rachael Burgin, Chief Executive Officer Ms Saxon Mullins, Director of Advocacy
12.00 pm	Panel: National Association of Services against Sexual Violence (via videoconference) (S ubmission 23) Ms Nicole Lambert, Chief Executive Officer Ms Angela Lynch, Secretariat, Queensland Sexual Assault Network Ms Heather Clarke, Secretary and Board Member Sexual Assault Services Victoria (via videoconference) (Submission 27) Chief Executive Officer
	Ms Kathleen Maltzahn Dr Amy Webster, Policy, Advocacy & Research Manager
	Full Stop Australia (Submission 50) Ms Tara Hunter, A/g Chief Executive Officer Ms Emily Dale, Head of Advocacy
1.00 pm	Lunch

LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE Current and proposed sexual consent laws in Australia

2.00 pm	Australia's National Research Organisation for Women's Safety (via videoconference) (Submission 69) Ms Padma Raman, Chief Executive Officer
2.45 pm	Violet Co Legal & Consulting (Submission 40) Ms Karen Iles, Director and Principal Solicitor
3.15 pm	Afternoon tea
3.30 pm	Panel: Attorney-General's Department (Submission 38) Ms Esther Bogaart, First Assistant Secretary, First Nations and Justice Policy Ms Heidi Kiekebosch-Fitt, Acting Assistant Secretary, Criminal Justice Reform Taskforce Ms Julie Zezovska, Director, Responses to Sexual Assaults Department of Social Services Ms Greta Doherty, Group Manager, Women's Safety Ms Lara Purdy, Branch Manager, Response and Behaviour Chnage Department of Education Ms Rachel O'Connor, Assistant Secretary, Student Engagement & Wellbeing Branch Ms Dianne Braggett, Director, Respectful Relationships Education Team
4.30 pm	Adjournment