

ENVIRONMENT AND COMMUNICATIONS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Nature Repair Market Bill 2023 and Nature Repair Market (Consequential Amendments) Bill 2023 [Provisions]

PUBLIC HEARING Friday 30 June 2023

Committee Room 2S3 Parliament House, Canberra

All times AEST

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Threatened Species Scientific Committee (Submission 34) Professor Helene Marsh, Chair Professor Kingsley Dixon, Member
9.35 am	ACT Government (Submission 75) Rebecca Vassarotti, Minister for the Environment Victoria Clark, Director Strategic Development Policy (videoconference) Geoffrey Rutledge, Deputy Director-General, Environment, Water and Emissions Reduction
	NSW Biodiversity Conservation Trust The Hon Niall Blair, Board (videoconference) Dr Erin Giuliani, Chief Executive Officer (videoconference) Holly Park, Co-Director, Partnerships and Investment (videoconference)
	Queensland Department of Environment and Science (Submission 97) Alex Graham, Executive Director, Landscapes, Water and Natural Capital, Environment and Heritage Policy and Programs (videoconference) Cara Sanders-Wall, Senior Program Officer, Natural Capital Program (videoconference)
10.30 am	Morning tea

10.40 am	WWF-Australia (Submission 33) Dr Joshua Bishop, Conservation Economist
	Australian Land Conservation Alliance (Submission 38) Dr Jody Gunn, Chief Executive Officer Dr Michael Cornish, Policy Lead
	The National Conservancy Australia (Submission 99) Dr James Fitzsimons, Director of Conservation and Science (videoconference)
	Environmental Defenders Office (Submission 39) Frances Medlock, Solicitor, Government and Commonwealth Liaison (videoconference)
	The Australia Institute (Submission 40) Richard Denniss, Executive Director
	The Wilderness Society (Submission 81) Tim Beshara, Manager of Policy and Strategy
11.55 am	Climate Friendly (Submission 7) Skye Glenday, Co-Chief Executive Officer Jay Hender, Executive Manager, Business Development
	Carbon Market Institute (Submission 35) Kurt Winter, Director, Corporate Transition Gabriella Warden, Manager, Research and Government Relations
12.35 pm	Lunch
1.05 pm	Law Council of Australia (Submission 3) Robyn Glindemann, Chair, Australian Environment and Planning Law Group (videoconference) Anna Vella, Committee member, Australian Environment and Planning Law Group, Legal Practice Section (teleconference)
1.40 pm	Dr Peter Burnett (Submission 17)
	Dr Megan Evans (Submission 36)
	Dr Yung En Chee, (videoconference) (Submission 65)
2.40 pm	Afternoon tea
2.50 pm	Clean Energy Regulator (Submission 19) David Parker, Chief Executive Officer and Chair Shayleen Thompson, Executive General Manager
	Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water (Submissio n 37) Lyn O'Connell, Deputy Secretary James Tregurtha, Head of Taskforce, Nature Positive Taskforce Anthony Bennie, Division Head, Nature Repair Market and Environmental Science Dr Ryan Wilson, Director

4.20 pm Adjournment