

## LEGAL AND CONSTITUTIONAL AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE

## Current and proposed sexual consent laws in Australia

## PUBLIC HEARING Thursday 27 July 2023

## Maple Room Swissotel Sydney, 68 Market Street, Sydney

Time	Witness
8.30 am	Law Council of Australia (Submission 73) Mr Luke Murphy, President Mr Richard Wilson SC, Co-Chair, National Criminal Law Committee Ms Gabrielle Bashir SC, Member, National Criminal Law Committee Mr Nathan MacDonald, Deputy Director of Policy
9.45 am	Dr Julia Quilter (Submission 17)
10.30 am	Morning tea
10.40 am	WA Consent Ms Abigail Gregorio, Founder
11.10 am	Sexual Health Quarters (via teleconference) Ms Karen Molhuysen, Coordinator-Education and Development Ms Felicia O'Keefe, Educator
11.50 am	Panel:         Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency         Ms Adrienne Nieuwenhuis, Commissioner         Dr Mary Russell, A/g Chief Executive Officer         Group of Eight (via teleconference)         Professor Sharon Pickering, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Education) and Senior Vice-
	President, Monash University <b>Universities Australia (via teleconference)</b> Ms Catriona Jackson, Chief Executive Officer Dr Bianca Klettke, Senior Lecturer, Deakin University Ms Emma Lincoln, Director Governance and Assurance, Swinburne University of Technology
12.40 pm	Lunch

1.15 pm	<ul> <li>Panel: Queensland Sexual Assault Network (via teleconference) (Submission 4) Ms Angela Lynch, Executive Officer, Secretariat</li> <li>Australian Services Union Ms Julie Perkins, Chief Executive Officer, First National Hub (Griffith) and Chair, First Nations Women's FDV Program Ms Jarmira Borwick-Parker, Member and Family and Domestic Violence Specialist Ms Josephine Rechichi, FDV and Sexual Assault Counsellor, Jesuit Refugee Services Australia</li> </ul>
2.15 pm	Panel:         National Union of Students (Submission 35)         Ms Bailey Riley, President         End Rape on Campus Australia (Submission 21)         Ms Sharna Bremner, Founder and Director         Ms Nina Funnell, Director
3.15 pm	Afternoon tea
3.30 pm	<ul> <li>Panel: National Tertiary Education Union (via teleconference) (Submission 44)</li> <li>Dr Alison Barnes, National President</li> <li>Dr Terri MacDonald, Director, Policy and Research</li> <li>Australian Education Union (via teleconference)</li> <li>Mr Kevin Bates, Federal Secretary</li> <li>Ms Emma Lowe, Federal Women's Officer</li> </ul>
4.30 pm	Dr Kirsty Duncanson (Submission 5)
5.15 pm	Adjournment