

ENVIRONMENT AND COMMUNICATIONS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Environment and Other Legislation Amendment (Removing Nuclear Energy Prohibitions) Bill 2022

PUBLIC HEARING Monday 15 May 2023

Senate Committee Room 2S1 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Australian Nuclear Association (videoconference) (Submission 4) Dr Joanne Lackenby, President
	Australian Nuclear Association (Submission 4) Dr John Harries, Secretary
	SMR Nuclear Technology Pty Ltd (Submission 18) Mr Anthony Irwin, Technical Director
	Ultra Safe Nuclear Australia Pty Ltd (Submission 7) Mr James Voss, Managing Director
9.40 am	Global Nuclear Energy Advisory Pty Ltd (Submission 16) Ms Helen Cook, Principal
	Dr Adrian Paterson (Submission 37)
	Adj Professor Stephen Wilson (Submission 32)
10.20 am	Morning tea
10.35 am	Minerals Council of Australia (Submission 24) Ms Tania Constable, Chief Executive Officer Mr Nicholas Crowther, Principal Advisor, Energy
	South Australian Chamber of Mines & Energy (videoconference) (Submission 38) Ms Rebecca Knol, Chief Executive Officer
11.15 am	Voice for Walcha (Submission 23) Mr Cameron Grieg, President Mr Michael Durack, Member
	Responsible Energy Development for New England (Submission 39) Dr John Peatfield, Deputy Chairman Mr Ian McDonald, Executive
11.45 am	Nuclear for Australia (Submission 15) Mr William Shackel, Founder

ENVIRONMENT AND COMMUNICATIONS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE Environment and Other Legislation Amendment (Removing Nuclear Energy Prohibitions) Bill 2022

12.05 pm	Lunch
12.50 pm	Friends of the Earth Australia (videoconference) (Submission 14) Dr Jim Green, National Nuclear Campaigner
	Australian Conservation Foundation (Submission 14) Mr Dave Sweeney, Nuclear Policy Analyst
	Conservation Council of WA (videoconference) (Submission 14) Ms Mia Pepper, Nuclear Free Campaigner
1.30 pm	Electrical Trades Union (Submission 3) Mr Trevor Gauld, National Policy Officer Mr James Miranda, National Policy and Research Officer
2.00 pm	Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (videoconference) Dr Peter Mayfield, CSIRO Executive Director for Environment, Energy and Resources Mr Paul Graham, Chief Economist for CSIRO Energy
2.30 pm	Afternoon tea
2.45 pm	Australian Nuclear Science and Technology Organisation (Submission 19) Dr Miles Apperley, Group Executive, Nuclear Safety, Security, and Stewardship Australian Radiation Protection and Nuclear Safety Agency Dr Gillian Hirth, Chief Executive Officer
	Dr Rick Tinker, Branch Head and Chief Radiation Health Scientist
3.30 pm	Department of Climate Change, Energy, the Environment and Water (Submissio n 36) Mr Simon Duggan, Deputy Secretary Ms Clare McLaughlin, Division Head, Energy Division Mr James Tregurtha, Head of Taskforce, Taskforce for Environmental Legislative Reform and Establishment of an EPA
	Department of Industry, Science and Resources Ms Anthea Long, Division Head for Minerals and Resources Division Mr Matthew Crawshaw, General Manager, Mining Branch
4.30 pm	Adjournment