

### JOINT COMMITTEES

# PARLIAMENTARY JOINT COMMITTEE ON INTELLIGENCE AND SECURITY

## **Review of the Counter-Terrorism (Temporary Exclusion Orders) Act 2019**

### PUBLIC HEARING Monday 17 October 2022

### Committee Room 2R1 Canberra

Time	Witness
10.00 am	Via Video Conference: Law Council of Australia (Submission 4) Mr Lloyd Babb SC, Chair, National Security Law Working Group Dr David Neal SC, Co-Chair, National Criminal Law Committee Mr John Farrell, Senior Policy Lawyer
10.45 am	Australian Human Rights Commission (Submission 5) Mrs Lorraine Finlay, Human Rights Commissioner Mr Graeme Edgerton, Deputy General Counsel
11.30 am	Break
11.45 am	<b>Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security</b> (Submission 7) The Hon Christopher Jessup KC, Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security Mr Chris Brookes, Assistant Inspector-General
12.30 pm	Break
1.15 pm	<ul> <li>Department of Home Affairs (Submission 8)</li> <li>Mr Andrew Kefford PSM, Deputy Secretary, Social Cohesion &amp; Citizenship, Commonwealth Counter-Terrorism Coordinator, National Counter Foreign Interference Coordinator</li> <li>Mr Richard Feakes, First Assistant Secretary, Deputy Coordinator, Commonwealth CT Coordination Centre</li> <li>Mr Steve Webber, First Assistant Secretary, Disputes and Corporate Law</li> <li>Australian Border Force (Submission 8)</li> <li>Ms Penelope Spies, Commander, Special Investigations Branch</li> <li>Australian Federal Police (Submission 6)</li> <li>Mr Scott Lee, Assistant Commissioner</li> </ul>
	Mr Ian McCartney, Deputy Commissioner Investigations <b>Australian Security Intelligence Organisation</b> (Submission 3) Mr Mike Burgess, Director-General of Security
2.30 pm	Close