

ENVIRONMENT AND COMMUNICATIONS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Climate Change Bill 2022 and the Climate Change (Consequential Amendments) Bill 2022

PUBLIC HEARING Thursday 18 August 2022

Committee Room 2S3 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
8.30 am	Professor Penny Sackett, Distinguished Honorary Professor, ANU Institute for Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions (Submission 67)
	Professor Frank Jotzo, Head of Energy, ANU Institute for Climate, Energy and Disaster Solutions
	Professor Nerilie Abram, Professor of Climate Science, Australian National University (via videoconference)
9.20 am	Australian Conservation Foundation (Submission 12) Ms Suzanne Harter, Climate Change Campaigner (via videoconference)
	World Wildlife Fund Australia (Submission 27) Dr Krista Singleton-Cambage, Head of Climate and Food Security (via videoconference) Mr Oliver Toohey, International Climate Change Program Manager
	Wilderness Society (Submission 65) Mr Tim Beshara, Manager of Policy and Strategy (via videoconference)
	Greenpeace (Submission 33) Mr David Ritter, Chief Executive Officer (via videoconference)
	Wilderness Australia (Submission 44) Ms Virginia Young, Director (via videoconference)
	EDOs Australia (Submission 3) Ms Rachel Walmsley, Head of Policy and Law Reform (via videoconference)
10.10 am	National Farmers' Federation (Submission 31) Mr Warwick Ragg, General Manager Natural Resource Management (via videoconference) Mr Angus Atkinson, Chair, Sustainable Development and Climate Change Committee
	(via videoconference)
	Australian Forest Products Association (Submission 60) Mr Ross Hampton, Chief Executive Officer Mr Victor Violante, Deputy Chief Executive Officer

ENVIRONMENT AND COMMUNICATIONS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE Climate Change Bill 2022 and the Climate Change (Consequential Amendments) Bill 2022

11.00 am	Morning tea
11.15 am	Business Council of Australia (Submission 93) Ms Jennifer Westacott, Chief Executive (via videoconference) Mr Tim Reed, President (via videoconference)
	Australian Industry Group Mr Tennant Reed, Principal National Adviser, Public Policy (via videoconference)
12.05 pm	Australian Council of Trade Unions (Submission 37) Mr Ben Moxham, Legal and Policy Director (via videoconference)
	Electrical Trades Union of Australia (Submission 63) Mr Trevor Gauld, National Policy Officer (via videoconference)
	Maritime Union of Australia Dr Penny Howard, National Research Officer (via videoconference) Mr Adrian Evans, Assistant National Secretary (via videoconference)
	Australian Workers' Union Mr Taylor Rundell, National Economist (via videoconference)
12.55 pm	Lunch
1.35 pm	The Australia Institute (Submission 100) Dr Richard Denniss, Executive Director Ms Sienna Parrott, Anne Kantor Fellow
	Grattan Institute Mr Tony Wood, Energy Program Director
	Blueprint Institute (Submission 103) Mr David Cross, Chief Executive Officer (via videoconference) Mr Josh Steinert, Director of Research (via videoconference) Mr Mark Ouliaris, Senior Researcher (via videoconference)
	Climate Council Dr Simon Bradshaw, Research Director, Projects (via videoconference)
2.25 pm	Australian Council of Social Service (Submission 59) Ms Jacqueline Phillips, Director of Policy and Deputy Chief Executive Officer (via videoconference) Ms Kellie Caught, Program Director, Climate and Energy (via videoconference)
2.55 pm	Insurance Council of Australia (Submission 101) Ms Kylie MacFarlane, Chief Operating Officer (via videoconference)
3.25 pm	Afternoon tea

ENVIRONMENT AND COMMUNICATIONS LEGISLATION COMMITTEE Climate Change Bill 2022 and the Climate Change (Consequential Amendments) Bill 2022

3.40 pm	Clean Energy Council (Submission 17) Ms Anna Freeman, Director Renewable Hydrogen and Electrification Smart Energy Council (Submission 70) Mr Wayne Smith, Government Relations Manager Mr Connor Woulfe, Project and Research Assistant Beyond Zero Emissions (Submission 166) Ms Beth Mitchell, Government Affairs Specialist Climateworks Centre (Submission 75) Ms Laura Simes, Government and Stakeholder Engagement Manager (via videoconference)
4.30 pm	Australian Energy Council (Submission 39) Mr Ben Skinner, General Manager, Policy (via videoconference) Mr Rhys Thomas, Policy Advisor (via videoconference) Energy Networks Australia Mr Andrew Dillon, Chief Executive Officer (via videoconference) Mr Dominic Adams, General Manager, Networks (via videoconference)
5.20 pm	Adjournment