

EDUCATION AND EMPLOYMENT LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Australian Research Council Amendment (Ensuring Research Independence) Bill 2018

PUBLIC HEARING Wednesday 9 March 2022

Senate Committee Room 2S1 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Peak Bodies Panel: The Group of Eight (Submission 79) Dr Matthew Brown, Deputy Chief Executive (via videoconference) Universities Australia (Submission 34) Ms Catriona Jackson, Chief Executive Mr Peter Chesworth, Deputy Chief Executive Regional Universities Network (Submission 70) Mr Alec Webb, Executive Director (via videoconference) Innovative Research Universities (Submission 68) Mr Paul Harris, Executive Director
9.55 am	Academics Panel: Professor Aidan Sims, (via videoconference) (Submission 8) Professor Andrew Francis (Submission 9) Professor Anna Hickey-Moody, (via videoconference) (Submission 21) Academics for Public Universities (Submission 42) Professor Peter Tregear, Member (via videoconference)
10.50 am	Break

EDUCATION AND EMPLOYMENT LEGISLATION COMMITTEE Australian Research Council Amendment (Ensuring Research Independence) Bill 2018

11.00 am	University Panel 1: Australian National University (Submission 59) Professor Brian Schmidt, Vice-Chancellor The University of Melbourne (Submission 75) Professor James McCluskey, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) (via videoconference) Western Sydney University (Submission 50) Professor Deborah Sweeney, Deputy Vice Chancellor and Vice President, Research, Enterprise and International (via videoconference) University of Tasmania (Submission 52)
	Professor Anthony Koutoulis, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)
11.55 am	University Panel 2: Monash University (Submission 57) Professor Michael Ryan, Pro-Vice Chancellor (Research) (via teleconference) Professor Rebekah Brown, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) and Senior Vice-President (via teleconference)
	Queensland University of Technology (Submission 24) Dr John Byron, Principal Policy Advisor
	Australian Catholic University (Submission 46) Professor James McLaren, Interim Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Enterprise) (via videoconference) Mr Ashley Midalia, Director - Government, Policy and Strategy (via videoconference)
12.40 pm	HASS Panel: Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia (Submission 14) Professor Richard Holden, President (via videoconference) Dr Chris Hatherly, Chief Executive Officer Professor Jane Hall, Immediate Past President (via videoconference)
	Council for the Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences (Submission 20) Professor Dan Woodman, President
	Australasian Council of Deans of Arts, Social Sciences and Humanities (Submissi on 18) Professor Catharine Coleborne, President (via videoconference) Ms Jane Ryan, Executive Officer
1.25 pm	Lunch

EDUCATION AND EMPLOYMENT LEGISLATION COMMITTEE Australian Research Council Amendment (Ensuring Research Independence) Bill 2018

2.05 pm	Stem Panel: Science & Technology Australia (Submission 58) Ms Misha Schubert, Chief Executive Officer Professor Mark Hutchinson, President (via videoconference) Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (Submission 47) Professor Hugh Bradlow, President Ms Kylie Walker, Chief Executive Officer Australian Institute of Physics (Submission 74) Professor Sven Rogge, President Australian Academy of Science (Submission 33) Professor Hans Bachor, Secretary, Communication and Outreach (via teleconference) Dr Stuart Barrow, Senior Policy Analyst
3.00 pm	Unions and Associations Panel: National Tertiary Education Union (NTEU) (Submission 35) Dr Terri MacDonald, Director of Policy Research (via videoconference) Mr Kieran McCarron, Policy Officer (via videoconference) Council of Australian Postgraduate Associations and National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Postgraduate Association (Submission 72) Mr Errol Phuah, National President/Chief Executive Officer, Council of Australian Postgraduate Associations Dr Sadie Heckenberg, Past President, National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Postgraduate Association (via videoconference)
3.45 pm	Institute of Public Affairs (Submission 13) Dr Peter Ridd, Adjunct Fellow
4.15 pm	Break
4.25 pm	Government Panel: Department of Education, Skills and Employment (Submission 32) Dr Dom English, First Assistant Secretary, Higher Education Division Ms Danielle Donegan, Assistant Secretary, Research Policy and Programs Branch Australian Research Council (Submission 16) Ms Judi Zielke, Acting Chief Executive Officer Dr Mel Southwell-Lee, Branch Manager, Policy and Strategy Mr Stuart Henry, Chief Programs Officer
5.15 pm	Adjournment