

#### THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

#### STANDING COMMITTEE ON COMMUNICATIONS AND THE ARTS

## Inquiry into Australia's regional newspapers

## PUBLIC HEARING Tuesday 1 March 2022

## Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
10.40 am	Australian Broadcasting Corporation (ABC) Mr Hugh Martin, Head, Regional, Rural & Emergency (via videoconference)
	Special Broadcasting Service (SBS) Ms Rhanna Collins, Head of INACA (via videoconference) Ms Clare O'Neil, Director, Corporate Affairs (via videoconference) Ms Mandi Wicks, Director, News & Current Affairs (via videoconference)
11.20 am	Break
11.40 am	InDaily Mr David Washington, Editorial Director (via videoconference)
	The Canungra Times Ms Keer Moriarty, Director (via videoconference)
	Today News Group (Submission 19) Mr Damian Morgan, Director (via videoconference)
12.40 pm	Journalism Education and Research Association of Australia (Submission 5) Dr Peter English, Vice-president (via videoconference) Dr Alexandra Wake, President (via videoconference)
	University of Canberra (Submission 9) Dr Caroline Fisher, Associate Professor, Journalism Dr Kerry McCallum, Director, News and Media Research Centre Dr Sora Park, Professor, News and Media Research Centre
1.20 pm	Break
2.00 pm	East Arnhem Regional Local Council Mr Dale Keehne, Chief Executive Officer
2.20 pm	Public Interest Publishers Alliance (Submission 50) Mr Lawrence Gibbons, Co-Chair Mr Anita McInnes, Spokeswoman

# STANDING COMMITTEE ON COMMUNICATIONS AND THE ARTS Inquiry into Australia's regional newspapers

2.40 pm	Free TV Australia and WIN Corporation (Submission 11) Ms Bridget Fair, Chief Executive Officer, Free TV (via videoconference) Ms Natasha Eves, Regulatory Affairs Manager, Free TV (via videoconference) Mr Ross Mitchell, Director of Broadcasting Policy, Free TV (via videoconference) Mr Stevan Djokic, General Manager Broadcast Operations, WIN Corporation (via videoconference)
3.20 pm	Break
3.40 pm	Australian Communications and Media Authority (Submission 32) Ms Cathy Rainsford, General Manager, Content & Consumer Division Ms Rochelle Zurnamer, Executive Manager, Content Safeguards Branch (via videoconference)
4.00 pm	Australian Competition and Consumer Commission (Submission 31) Ms Kate Reader, General Manager, Digital Platform Branch (via videoconference) Mr Tom Leuner, Executive General Manager, Mergers Exemptions and Digital (via videoconference)
4.20 pm	Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications (Submission 29) Ms Adam Carlon, Assistant Secretary, Media Industry & Sustainability Mr James Penprase, Assistant Secretary, Media Reform Branch Ms Pauline Sullivan, First Assistant Secretary, Online Safety, Media & Platforms Division Ms Kerstin Wijeyewardene, Assistant Secretary, Platforms & News Branch
5.00 pm	Close