

#### JOINT COMMITTEES

# PARLIAMENTARY JOINT COMMITTEE ON INTELLIGENCE AND SECURITY

## Review of the National Security Legislation Amendment (Comprehensive Review and Other Measures No. 1) Bill 2021

### PUBLIC HEARING Friday 25 February 2022

### Committee Room 2R1 Canberra

Time	Witness
10.00 am	Via Video Conference: Law Council of Australia (Submission 3) Mr Lloyd Babb SC, Chair, National Security Law Working Group Ms Christina Raymond, Senior Policy Lawyer, National Security and Criminal Law
11.00 am	Break
11.15 am	<b>Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security</b> (Submission 10) Th Hon Dr Christopher Jessup QC, Inspector-General Ms Bronwyn Notzon-Glenn, Deputy Inspector-General Mr Nathan Kensey, A/g Assistant Inspector-General
12.15 pm	Lunch
1.00 pm	<ul> <li>Department of Home Affairs (Submission 1)</li> <li>Mr Andrew Warnes, First Assistant Secretary, Electronic Surveillance Division</li> <li>Mr Paul Pfitzner, Assistant Secretary, National Security Policy Branch, Electronic Surveillance Division</li> <li>Mr Owen Thomas, Director, Intelligence and Security Policy Section, National Security Policy Branch, Electronic Surveillance Division</li> <li>Australian Security Intelligence Organisation (Submission 4)</li> <li>Ms Heather Cook, Deputy Director-General, Intelligence Service Delivery</li> <li>Australian Signals Directorate (Submission 8)</li> <li>Ms Rachel Noble PSM, Director-General, Sigint and Network Operations</li> <li>Mr Stephen McGlynn, First Assistant Director-General People, Property and Governance</li> <li>Office of National Intelligence (Submission 9)</li> <li>Ms Kathryn McMullan, First Assistant Director-General, Analytical Capabilities</li> </ul>
2.30 pm	Break

2.45 pm	<ul> <li>Department of Home Affairs (Submission 1)</li> <li>Mr Andrew Warnes, First Assistant Secretary, Electronic Surveillance Division</li> <li>Mr Paul Pfitzner, Assistant Secretary, National Security Policy Branch, Electronic Surveillance Division</li> <li>Mr Owen Thomas, Director, Intelligence and Security Policy Section, National Security Policy Branch, Electronic Surveillance Division</li> <li>Australian Security Intelligence Organisation (Submission 4)</li> <li>Ms Heather Cook, Deputy Director-General, Intelligence Service Delivery</li> <li>Australian Signals Directorate (Submission 8)</li> <li>Ms Rachel Noble PSM, Director-General, Sigint and Network Operations</li> <li>Mr Stephen McGlynn, First Assistant Director-General People, Property and Governance</li> <li>Office of National Intelligence (Submission 9)</li> <li>Ms Kathryn McMullan, First Assistant Director-General, Analytical Capabilities</li> </ul>
4.00 pm	Ms Katherine Cook, General Counsel Close