

## FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE REFERENCES COMMITTEE

## Australia's engagement in Afghanistan

## PUBLIC HEARING Monday 15 November 2021

## **Committee Room 2S3** and via videoconference, Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Ms Hasina Safi, Acting Minister for Women's Affairs for the Afghanistan Government from May 2020 to August 2021 (via videoconference)
	<b>Professor Felicity Gerry QC, Azadah Raz Mohammad, Anna McNeil and Karin M Frodé (via videoconference)</b> (Submission 61) Professor Felicity Gerry QC Azadah Raz Mohammad
9.45 am	Veteran Support Force (Submission 27) Major Heston Russell, Managing Director (via videoconference) Major (Retired) Heston Russell (Submission 26)
10.15 am	Australian Federal Police (Submission 34) Mr Ian McCartney, Deputy Commissioner Investigations Mr Geoffrey Turner, Commander Crime Command
10.45 am	Break

10.55 am	<ul> <li>Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (Submission 22)</li> <li>Ms Kathryn Campbell AO CSC, Secretary</li> <li>Mr Simon Newnham, Acting Deputy Secretary</li> <li>Mr Daniel Sloper, Special Representative on Afghanistan (via videoconference)</li> <li>Ms Heidi Venamore PSM, Ambassador to the United Arab Emirates (via videoconference)</li> <li>Ms Kate Logan, First Assistant Secretary, Consular and Crisis Management Division</li> <li>Mr Gary Cowan, First Assistant Secretary, North and South Asia Division</li> <li>Ms Lucienne Manton, Ambassador for People Smuggling and Human Trafficking</li> <li>Ms Minoli Perera, Chief Security Officer</li> </ul>
	Mr Greg Moriarty, Secretary GEN Angus Campbell AO DSC, Chief of the Defence Force Mr Hugh Jeffrey, First Assistant Secretary International Policy AVM Robert Chipman AM CSC, Head, Military Strategic Commitments RADM Sarah Sharkey AM CSC, Surgeon General Australian Defence Force MAJGEN Natasha Fox AM CSC, Head People Capability Mr Steven Groves, Chief Finance Officer
	Department of Home Affairs and Australian Border Force (Submission 19) Mr Michael Pezzullo, Secretary Mr Andrew Kefford, Deputy Secretary, Social Cohesion and Citizenship Group Mr Cheryl-anne Moy, Deputy Secretary, Immigration and Settlement Services Group Ms Cheryl Pearce, Deputy Commissioner, Ports and Enforcement Mr Richard Feakes, First Assistant Secretary/ Deputy Commissioner, Counter Terrorism Coordination Centre Mr Richard Johnson, First Assistant Secretary, Social Cohesion Mr David Wilden, First Assistant Secretary, Immigration Programs Mr Phil Brezzo, Assistant Commissioner, South & Enforcement Operations Ms Sally Pfeiffer, Assistant Secretary, Humanitarian Program Operation Ms Lauren Monks, Commander, International Operational Coordination
	Department of Veterans' Affairs (Submission 21) Ms Liz Cosson AM CSC, Secretary Ms Vicki Rundle PSM, Deputy Secretary Ms Leanne Cameron, First Assistant Secretary
12.55 pm	Lunch break
1.25 pm	<b>Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade</b> (Submission 22)
	<b>Department of Defence</b> (Submission 20)
	<b>Department of Home Affairs</b> (Submission 19)
	Department of Veterans' Affairs (Submission 21)
2.25 pm	Emeritus Professor William Maley, Dr Niamatullah Ibrahimi, Dr Nishank Motwani, and Dr Srinjoy Bose (Submission 15) Emeritus Professor William Maley Dr Niamatullah Ibrahimi (via videoconference) Dr Nishank Motwani Dr Srinjoy Bose (via videoconference)
	Dr Nematullah Bizhan (Submission 50)
3.25 pm	Adjournment