

COMMUNITY AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE

Provision of general practitioner and related primary health services to outer metropolitan, rural, and regional Australians

PUBLIC HEARING Thursday 4 November 2021

Committee Room 2S1 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
9.00 am	The Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (Submission 107) Dr Karen Price, President Dr Michael Clements, Rural Chair Australian Medical Association (Submission 94) Dr Chris Moy, Vice President Associate Professor Peter Macguire, AMA Council of Rural Doctors
10.00 am	Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine (Submission 110) Dr Sarah Chalmers, President Dr Ewen McPhee, Past President Rural Doctors Association of Australia (Submission 109) Dr Megan Belot, President Dr John Hall, President
11.00 am	Break
12.00 pm	National Rural Health Alliance (Submission 95) Ms Gabrielle O'Kane, Chief Executive Officer Ms Clare Fitzmaurice, Policy and Data Analytics Officer Rural Workforce Agency Network (Submission 50) Mr Chris Mitchell, Chair Mr Edward Swan, Executive Officer, Representation and Engagement
12.30 pm	James Cook University (Submission 146) Professor Richard Murray, Deputy Vice Chancellor of the Division of Tropical Health and Medicine Associate Professor Peta Anne Teague, Associate Dean, Strategy and Engagement, Division of Tropical Health and Medicine Professor Sabrina Knight AM, Director, Jame Cook University Murtupuni Center for Rural and Remote Health Associate Professor Catrina Felton, University Alumni and Superintendent of Joyce Palmer Hospital, Palm Island Mr Kane Langdon, James Cook University 6th Year Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery Student

COMMUNITY AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE
Provision of general practitioner and related primary health services to outer metropolitan, rural, and regional Australians

1.15 pm	Pharmacy Guild of Australia (Submission 81) Mr Simon Blacker, Pharmacy Guild of Australia ACT Branch President and Chair of Community Pharmacies for Rural and Indigenous Australia Sub-committee Ms Claire Bekema, Senior Pharmacist Clinical Governance and Workforce
1.45 pm	Office of the National Rural Health Commissioner (Submission 56) Professor Ruth Stewart, National Rural Health Commissioner Primary Health Network Cooperative (Submission 46) Mr Matt Jones, Chief Executive Officer
2.30 pm	Break
2.45 pm	Department of Health (Submission 38) Ms Penny Shakespeare, Deputy Secretary, Health Resourcing Group Mr Matthew Williams, First Assistant Secretary, Health Workforce Division Dr Susan Wearne, Medical Advisor, Health Workforce Division Mr Martin Rocks, Assistant Secretary, Health Training Branch Ms Louise Clarke, Assistant Secretary, Rural Access Branch Mr Nick Pascual, Assistant Secretary, Bonded Taskforce Ms Teresa Gorondi, Assistant Secretary, Health Workforce Reform Branch
4.00 pm	Adjournment