

FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE REFERENCES COMMITTEE

Funding for public research into foreign policy issues

PUBLIC HEARING Wednesday 7 July 2021

Committee Room 2S1 and via videoconference, Parliament House, Canberra

All times AEST

Time	Witness
8.45 am	University of Melbourne Peacebuilding Initiative (Submission 3) Professor John Langmore AM, Professorial Fellow and Chair (via videoconference) Dr Tania Miletic, Assistant Director (via videoconference)
9.15 am	Save the Children (Submission 14) Dr Amrita Malhi, Senior Adviser Geoeconomics (via videoconference) Mr Simon Henderson, Head of Policy (via videoconference)
9.45 am	Break
10.00 am	Mr Peter Jennings PSM (Submission 23)
	Australian Institute of International Affairs (Submission 7) Dr Bryce Wakefield, National Executive Director
	Lowy Institute (Submission 21) Mr Michael Fullilove AM, Executive Director (via videoconference)
11.00 am	The Group of Eight (Submission 12) Ms Vicky Thomson, Chief Executive (via videoconference)
11.30 am	Australian Research Council (Submission 13) Professor Sue Thomas, Chief Executive Officer (via videoconference) Ms Kathie Dent, Acting Branch Manager, Policy & Strategy (via videoconference) Ms Kylie Emery, Branch Manager, Grants Due Diligence (via videoconference)
12.00 pm	Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (Submission 20) Mr David Lawrence, Acting Chief Finance Officer Mr Nigel Stanier, Assistant Secretary, Strategic Policy Contestability and Futures branch
12.30 pm	Department of Defence (Submission 17) Ms Celia Perkins, First Assistant Secretary Strategic Policy (via teleconference) Mr Adam Wilson, Director Strategic Policy Outreach (via teleconference)
1.00 pm	Adjournment