

FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Customs Amendment (Banning Goods Produced By Uyghur Forced Labour) Bill 2020

PUBLIC HEARING Tuesday 27 April 2021

Committee Room 2S1 (and videoconference), Parliament House, Canberra

All times AEST

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Dr Darren Byler, Post-Doctoral Researcher (via videoconference) (Submission 42)
	Ms Vicky Xu, Analyst (Submission 50)
	Professor James Leibold, Senior Fellow (Submission 37)
10.00 am	Break
10.15 am	East Turkistan Australian Association (Submission 31) Mr Nurmuhammad Majid, President (via videoconference)
	Uyghur Association of Victoria (Submission 35) Mr Alim Osman, President (via videoconference)
	Australian Uyghur Tangritagh Women's Assoc. (Submission 39) Ms Ramilla Chanisheff, President
11.15 am	Ethical Clothing Australia (Submission 29) Ms Angela Bell, National Manager (via videoconference)
	Human Rights Law Centre (Submission 41) Ms Keren Adams, Legal Director (via videoconference) Ms Freya Dinshaw, Senior Lawyer (via videoconference)
12.00 pm	Lunch break
1.00 pm	Be Slavery Free (Submission 48) Ms Carolyn Kitto, National Co-Director (via videoconference)
	Slavery Links Australia inc. (Submission 40) Mr Roscoe Howell, Founding Director
1.45 pm	Chinese Community Council of Australia Inc., Multicultural Communities Council of NSW Inc., National Chinese Australian Leadership Group & National Sikh Council of Australia Inc. (Submission 6) Dr Anthony (Tony) Pun, Chair, Multicultural Communities Council of NSW Inc. (via videoconference)

FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE LEGISLATION COMMITTEE Customs Amendment (Banning Goods Produced By Uyghur Forced Labour) Bill 2020

2.15 pm	Break
2.30 pm	Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (Submission 57) Ms Alice Cawte, Acting First Assistant Secretary Mr Neil Hawkins, Assistant Secretary Ms Lucienne Manton, Ambassador for People Smuggling and Human Trafficking Ms Suzanne McCourt, Assistant Secretary Mr Ravi Kewalram, Acting Chief Trade Law Officer Department of Home Affairs (Submission 57) Mr Chad Hodgens, Acting First Assistant Secretary Ms Kimberlee Stamatis, Acting Assistant Secretary Australian Bandon Fores (Submission 57)
	Australian Border Force (Submission 57) Ms Vanessa Holben, Group Manager, Deputy Compotroller-General Customs Ms Frances Finney, Assistant Secretary Mr Matthew Duckworth, Assistant Secretary Ms Erin Dale, Assistant Commissioner (via videoconference)
3.15 pm	Adjournment