

PARLIAMENTARY JOINT COMMITTEE ON INTELLIGENCE AND SECURITY

Inquiry into national security risks affecting the Australian higher education and research sector

PUBLIC HEARING Friday 19 March 2021

Committee Room 2R1 Canberra

Time	Witness
8.00 am	Australian National University (Submission 45) Professor Brian Schmidt, Vice-Chancellor and President
	Adelaide University (Via Video Conference) Professor Peter Høj AC, Vice-Chancellor and President Professor Anton Middelberg, Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice President (Research)
	University of Melbourne (Submission 38) Professor Michael Wesley, Deputy Vice-Chancellor International
	University of Technology Sydney (Via Video Conference) Professor Attila Brungs, Vice-Chancellor Mr Iain Watt, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (International) Professor Kate McGrath, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)
10.15 am	Break
10.30 am	CSIRO (Submission 21) Ms Judi Zielke, Chief Operating Officer Dr Jack Steele, Director, Science Impact and Policy Mr Dave Agnew, Director, Business and Infrastructure Services Mr Nima Torabi, Executive Manager Security and Resilience
11.15 am	Australian Research Council (Submission 18) Professor Sue Thomas, Chief Executive Officer Ms Kylie Emery, Branch Manager Ms Kathie Dent, Acting Branch Manager, Policy & Strategy Branch
12.00 pm	Lunch

PARLIAMENTARY JOINT COMMITTEE ON INTELLIGENCE AND SECURITY Inquiry into national security risks affecting the Australian higher education and research sector

12.45 pm	The University of Queensland (Via Video Conference) (Submission 22) Mr Peter Varghese, Chancellor Professor Deborah Terry, Vice-Chancellor Professor Aidan Byrne, Provost
	The University of Sydney (Submission 30) Professor Duncan Ivison, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)
	UNSW Sydney (Via Video Conference) (Submission 14) Professor Ian Jacobs, President and Vice-Chancellor Professor George Williams AO, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Planning and Assurance Professor Nicholas Fisk AM, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Research and Enterprise Monash University (Via Video Conference) (Submission 17) Professor Margaret Gardner AC, President and Vice-Chancellor Professor Abid Khan, Deputy Vice-Chancellor Global Engagement
3.00 pm	Break
3.15 pm	Universities Australia (Submission 26) Ms Catriona Jackson, Chief Executive Officer Professor John Dewar, Vice-Chancellor Professor Margaret Sheil, Deputy Chair The Group of Eight (Go8) (Submission 34) Ms Vicki Thomson, Chief Executive
4.30 pm	Close