

JOINT COMMITTEES

PARLIAMENTARY JOINT COMMITTEE ON INTELLIGENCE AND SECURITY

Review of the Surveillance Legislation Amendment (Identify and Disrupt) Bill 2020

PUBLIC HEARING Wednesday 10 March 2021

Committee Room 2R1 Canberra

Time	Witness
10.00 am	 Law Council of Australia (Submission 21) Dr Jacoba Brasch QC, President Dr David Neal SC, Co-Chair national Criminal Law Committee Mr Tim Game SC, Member National Criminal Law Committee (Via Teleconference) Dr Natasha Molt, Director of Policy, Policy Division Human Rights Law Centre (Submission 15) Mr Kieran Pender, Senior Lawyer
11.15 am	 Uniting Church in Australia, Synod of Victoria and Tasmania (Submission 13) Dr Mark Zirnsak, Senior Social Justice Advocate Carly Ryan Foundation (Via Teleconference) (Submission 2) Ms Sonya Ryan, CEO and Founder
12.00 pm	Lunch
12.30 pm	Cyber Security Cooperative Research Centre (Submission 14) Ms Rachael Falk, Chief Executive Officer Ms Anne-Louise Brown, Head of Corporate Affairs
1.15 pm	Communications Alliance (Via Teleconference) (Submission 12) Mr John Stanton, CEO Ms Christiane Gillespie-Jones, Director Program Management Mr Patrick Fair, Chair Communications Alliance Communications Security Reference Panel
2.30 pm	Commonwealth Ombudsman (Submission 5) Mr Michael Manthorpe PSM, Commonwealth Ombudsman Ms Penny McKay, Deputy Ombudsman Ms Emma Cotterill, Senior Assistant Ombudsman, Assurance Branch Ms Louise Cairns, Director
	Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security (Submission 18) The Hon Dr Christopher Jessup QC, Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security Ms Bronwyn Notzon-Glenn, Acting Deputy Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security Mr Sol Heredia, Assistant Director Legal

3.30 pm	 Department Of Home Affairs (Submission 9) Ms Cath Patterson, Deputy Secretary Strategy & Law Enforcement Mr Andrew Warnes, A/g First Assistant Secretary Electronic Surveillance Reform Taskforce Ms Rebecca Vonthethoff, A/g Assistant Secretary National Security Policy Branch Australian Federal Police (Submission 6) Commissioner Reece Kershaw APM Deputy Commisioner Ian McCartney, Deputy Commissioner Investigations Commander Douglas Boudry, Commander Covert & Technical Operations Commander Christopher Goldsmid, Commander Cybercrime Operations Superintendent Robert Nelson, Superintendent Digital Surveillance Collection Australian Signals Directorate Ms Rachel Noble PSM, Director-General Ms Abigail Bradshaw CSC, Head of the Australian Cyber Security Centre Mr Stephen McGlynn, First Assistant Director-General General Counsel Mr Karl Hanmore, First Assistant Director-General Cyber Security Services
5.00 pm	Close