

## FOREIGN AFFAIRS, DEFENCE AND TRADE REFERENCES COMMITTEE

## Issues facing diaspora communities in Australia

## **PUBLIC HEARING** Thursday 15 October 2020

## **Committee Room 2S2** (Via Teleconference), Parliament House, Canberra

All times AEDT

Time	Witness
9.00 am	Federation of Ethnic Communities' Councils of Australia (Submission 56) Ms Alexandra Raphael, Director of Policy
9.40 am	Australian Multicultural Council (Submission 19) Dr Sev Ozdowski, Chair
10.10 am	Settlement Council of Australia (Submission 23) Ms Sandra Wright, Chair
10.50 am	Australian Security Intelligence Organisation (Submission 12) Mr Mike Burgess, Director-General Security
11.30 am	Break
11.40 am	Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (Submission 20) Mr Kenneth Gordon, Acting Deputy CEO, National Foundation for Australia-China Relations Mr Ray Marcelo, Assistant Secretary, Southeast Asia Regional Engagement Branch (lead) Mr James Wiblin, Assistant Secretary, India and Indian Ocean Branch Ms Nancy Gordon, Assistant Secretary, North East Asia Branch Mr John Williams, Assistant Secretary, Pacific Strategic Branch Ms Chantelle Taylor, Assistant Secretary, Africa Branch Mr Benjamin Hayes, Assistant Secretary, Middle East Branch Dr Annemarie Watt, Director, Latin America and Caribbean Section Ms Jeannie Henderson, Director, Communications Branch
12.20 pm	Department of Home Affairs (Submission 78)  Mr Richard Johnson, First Assistant Secretary, Social Cohesion Division Mr Steve Biddle, Assistant Secretary, Settlement Program Operations Branch Mrs Jess Del Rio, Assistant Secretary, Adult Migrant English Program Branch Mr David Wilden, First Assistant Secretary Ms Anne Leo, A/g First Assistant Secretary Ms Geraldine Dennis, A/g Assistant Secretary Ms Alison Garrod, A/g Assistant Secretary
1.00 pm	Adjournment