

#### EDUCATION AND EMPLOYMENT LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

## Higher Education Support Amendment (Job-Ready Graduates and Supporting Regional and Remote Students) Bill 2020

### PUBLIC HEARING Thursday 17 September 2020

#### Main Committee Room (1R0) Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
8.30 am	Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (Submission 101) Ms Jenny Lambert, Director - Employment, Education and Training
9.00 am	via videconference: Australian Clinical Psychology Association Associate Professor Vida Bliokas, President Professor Caroline Hunt, Director
9.30 am	Engineers Australia Ms Jane MacMaster, Chief Engineer
10.00 am	via videconference: Mr Mark Warburton (Submission 25)
10.30 am	Break
10.40 am	via videoconference: Professor Andrew Norton (Submission 53)
11.10 am	via videconference: Nous Group Mr Ant Bagshaw, Director Mr Tim Orton, Managing Director
11.40 am	Australian National University (Submission 54) Professor Grady Venville, Deputy Vice-Chancellor
12.10 pm	via videconference: Australian Council of Deans of Science (Submission 57) Professor John Rice, Executive Director
12.40 pm	Lunch
1.20 pm	Independent Tertiary Education Council Australia (Submission 59) Mr Troy Williams, Chief Executive Officer Mr Felix Pirie, Director - Policy and Research

# EDUCATION AND EMPLOYMENT LEGISLATION COMMITTEE Higher Education Support Amendment (Job-Ready Graduates and Supporting Regional and Remote Students) Bill 2020

1.50 pm	TAFE Directors Australia Mr Craig Robertson, Chief Executive Officer Mr Ronald Jackson, Director - Strategy and Tertiary Education  TAFE South Australia - via videoconference Mr David Coltman, Chief Executive
2.30 pm	via videoconference: Australian Education Union Ms Correna Haythorpe, Federal President
3.00 pm	Break
3.10 pm	University of South Australia - via teleconference Professor David Lloyd, Vice-Chancellor  University of Adelaide - via videoconference (Submission 60) Professor Mike Brooks, Interim Vice-Chancellor and President  Flinders University - via videconference (Submission 65) Professor Colin Stirling, Vice-Chacellor and President
4.30 pm	via videoconference:  Department of Education, Skills and Employment (Submission 67)  Dr Michele Bruniges AM, Secretary  Mr Rob Heferen, Deputy Secretary - Higher Education, Research and International Mr Dom English, First Assistant Secretary - Higher Education Division  Ms Danielle Donegan, Assistant Secretary - Tertiary Policy Branch  Ms Drew Menzies-McVey, Assistant Secretary - Funding and Students Branch  Mr Rajan Martin, Assistant Secretary - Governance Quality and Access Branch  Mr Damian Coburn, Assistant Secretary - HELP and Provider Integrity Branch  Mr Mathew Johnston, Director - Legislation, Higher Education Division  Mr David Hertzberg, Principal Government Lawyer
6.00 pm	Adjournment