

EDUCATION AND EMPLOYMENT LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

Higher Education Support Amendment (Job-Ready Graduates and Supporting Regional and Remote Students) Bill 2020

PUBLIC HEARING Tuesday 15 September 2020

Main Committee Room (1R0) Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
8.30 am	Country Universities Centre Mr Duncan Taylor, CEO
9.00 am	via videoconference: University of Tasmania (Submission 61) Prof Rufus Black, Vice-Chancellor and President
9.30 am	via videoconference: University of the Sunshine Coast (Submission 79) Prof Helen Bartlett, Vice-Chancellor and President
10.00 am	Australian Technology Network of Universities, University of Newcastle and Deakin University (Submission 64) Mr Luke Sheehy, Executive Director
10.30 am	Break
10.40 am	via videoconference: Group of Eight Australia (Submission 55) Prof Margaret Gardner AC, Chair Ms Vicki Thomson, Chief Executive
11.10 am	via videoconference: University of Wollongong Prof Paul Wellings, Vice-Chancellor
11.40 am	via videoconference: University of Western Sydney (Submission 70) Prof Barney Glover, Vice-Chancellor and President
12.10 pm	via videoconference: Melbourne Centre for the Study of Higher Education (Submission 56) Prof William Locke, Director Prof Vin Massaro, Honorary Professorial Fellow Dr Gwilym Croucher, Senior Lecturer in Higher Education Policy Mr Ian Marshman AM, Honorary Principal Fellow
12.40 pm	Break

EDUCATION AND EMPLOYMENT LEGISLATION COMMITTEE Higher Education Support Amendment (Job-Ready Graduates and Supporting Regional and Remote Students) Bill 2020

1.30 pm	via videoconference: National Tertiary Education Union (Submission 58) Dr Alison Barnes, President Mr Paul Kniest, Director, Policy and Research
2.00 pm	via videoconference: National Union of Students (Submission 62) Ms Molly Willmott, National President Mr Lincoln Aspinall, Education Officer
2.30 pm	Australian Academy of Humanities (Submission 76) Prof Joy Damousi, President (via videoconference) Dr Christina Parolin, Executive Director
3.00 pm	via videoconference: University of Sydney (Submission 63) Prof Michael Spence AC, Vice-Chancellor and Principal
3.30 pm	Break
3.40 pm	via videoconference: Universities Australia (Submission 78) Prof Deborah Terry AO, Chair Ms Catriona Jackson, Chief Executive
4.10 pm	via videoconference: University of Newcastle Prof Alex Zelinsky AO, Vice-Chancellor and President
4.40 pm	via videoconference: Queensland University of Technology Prof Margaret Sheil, Vice-Chancellor and President
5.10 pm	via videoconference: Charles Darwin University (Submission 71) Prof Simon Maddocks, Vice-Chancellor and President Ms Penny Szybiak, Director Planning and Performance
5.40 pm	Adjournment