

#### JOINT COMMITTEES

# PARLIAMENTARY JOINT COMMITTEE ON INTELLIGENCE AND SECURITY

## Review of the mandatory data retention regime

## **PUBLIC HEARING** Friday 7 February 2020

## Committee Room 2R1 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
8.30 am	<b>Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security</b> (Submission 36) The Hon Margaret Stone AO FAAL, Inspector-General of Intelligence and Security Mr Jake Blight, Deputy Inspector-General
9.30 am	<b>Commonwealth Ombudsman</b> (Submission 20) Mr Michael Manthorpe, Commonwealth Ombudsman Ms Jaala Hinchcliffe, Deputy Ombudsman Ms Emma Cotterill, Senior Assistant Ombudsman, Assurance Ms Bethany West, Director, National Assurance and Audit
10.10 am	Australian Human Rights Commission (Submission 8) Mr Edward Santow, Human Rights Commissioner Ms Lara Renton, Senior Lawyer
11.10 am	Office of the Australian Information Commissioner (Submission 34) Ms Angelene Falk, Australian Information Commissioner and Privacy Commissioner Ms Melanie Drayton, Assistant Commissioner Regulation and Strategy Mr Brett Watson, Director Regulation and Strategy
12.00 pm	Lunch
12.30 pm	Australian Commission for Law Enforcement Integrity (Submission 6) Ms Sarah Marshall, Executive Director Operations
	Law Enforcement Conduct Commission (Submission 11) Mr Shane Butler, Director Electronic Collection
1.15 pm	Australian Strategic Policy Institute (Submission 22) Dr Isaac Kfir (private capacity)
2.00 pm	Break
2.10 pm	Law Council of Australia (Via Teleconference) (Submission 29) Ms Olga Ganopolsky, Chair, Privacy Law Committee, Business Law Section Dr David Neal SC, Co-Chair, National Criminal Law Committee Professor Peter Leonard, Member, Media and Communications Committee, Business Law Section Dr Natasha Molt, Director of Policy, Policy Division
3.00 pm	Close