

COMMUNITY AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE

Adequacy of Newstart and related payments and alternative mechanisms to determine the level of income support payments in Australia

PUBLIC HEARING Thursday 10 October 2019

Committee Room 2S3 Parliament House, Canberra

Time	Witness
8.30 am	Department of Social Services (Submission 80) Mr Nathan Williamson, Deputy Secretary, Social Security Mr Shane Bennett, Group Manager, Participation Payments and Families Ms Kath Paton, Branch Manager, Participation and Supplementary Payments
	Services Australia (Department of Human Services) (Submission 80) Ms Catherine Rule, Deputy Secretary, Programme Design Group Mr Brendan Moon, A/g General Manager, Older Australians Division
	Department of Employment, Skills, Small and Family Business (Submission 80) Mr Nathan Smyth, Deputy Secretary Ms Benedikte Jensen, First Assistant Secretary, Labour Market Strategy Division
11.00 am	Morning tea
11.15 am	The Australia Institute (Submission 78) Mr David Richardson, Senior Research Fellow
12.00 pm	Mental Health Australia (Submission 64) Mr Harry Lovelock, Director, Policy and Projects Ms Ingrid Hatfield, Policy Officer
12.45 pm	Lunch
1.30 pm	Fair Work Commission (via teleconference) Mr Murray Furlong, Executive Director Tribunal Services Branch Ms Samantha Farmakis-Gamboni, Director Modern Awards, Economics and Research
2.00 pm	Mr David Stanton, Hon. Associate Professor, Crawford School of Public Policy, ANU (Submission 71)
2.45 pm	Afternoon tea
3.00 pm	Dr Francis Markham (Submission 77)
	Professor Jon Altman (Submission 77)
3.45 pm	ACT Government (Submission 2) Ms Suzanne Orr MLA, Minister for Community Services and Facilities

COMMUNITY AFFAIRS REFERENCES COMMITTEE Adequacy of Newstart and related payments and alternative mechanisms to determine the level of income support payments in Australia

4.30 pm Adjournment

Committee Secretary: Jeanette Radcliffe PO Box 6100, Parliament House Canberra ACT 2600 Tel: +61 2 6277 3515 Email: <u>community.affairs.sen@aph.gov.au</u> Internet: <u>www.aph.gov.au/Parliamentary_Business/Committees/Senate/Community_Affairs</u>